United Nations - Treaty Collection on the Internet
STATUS AS AT : 29-05-2016 07:30:31 EDT
A . Custom Matters
11 . Customs Convention on the Temporary Importation for Private Use of Aircraft and Pleasure Boats
Geneva, 18 May 1956
Entry into force
1 January 1959 by the exchange of the said letters, in accordance with article 34.
Registration :
1 January 1959, No. 4630
Status :
Signatories : 11. Parties : 26. 1
Text :
United Nations,  Treaty Series , vol. 319, p. 21.
Participant 2
Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)
Algeria 3
  31 Oct 1963 a
18 May 1956
13 Nov 1957
18 May 1956
18 Feb 1963
Croatia 4
  31 Aug 1994 d
   8 Jan 1959 a
  30 Sep 1965 a
18 May 1956
20 May 1959
Germany 5, 6
18 May 1956
23 Oct 1961
18 May 1956
23 Jul 1957
18 May 1956
29 Mar 1962
  11 Nov 1963 d
18 May 1956
13 Oct 1964
   3 May 1966 d
  18 Jul 1969 d
Montenegro 7
  23 Oct 2006 d
Netherlands 8
18 May 1956
27 Jul 1960
  16 Feb 1965 a
Serbia 4
  12 Mar 2001 d
Sierra Leone
  13 Mar 1962 d
Slovenia 4
   3 Nov 1992 d
Solomon Islands
   3 Sep 1981 d
Spain 9
   2 Oct 1958 a
18 May 1956
16 Jan 1958
Switzerland 1
18 May 1956
 7 Jul 1960
Trinidad and Tobago
  11 Apr 1966 d
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2, 10
18 May 1956
 3 Oct 1958
Territorial Application
Date of receipt of the notification
France 14 Dec 1959 Overseas Territories (St. Pierre and Miquelon, French Somaliland, Comoro Archipelago, New Caledonia and Dependencies, French Polynesia)
  23 Dec 1959 Condominium of the New Hebrides
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2, 10 3 Oct 1958 The Isle of Man, Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey
  13 May 1959 Aden, British Guiana, Brunei, Gambia, Gibraltar, Kenya, Leeward Islands (Antigua, Montserrat), North Borneo, St. Helena, Sarawak, Seychelles, Singapore, Somaliland Protectorate, Tanganyika, Uganda, Windward Islands (Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent), Zanzibar, British Solomon Islands Protectorate; and Cyprus
  15 Sep 1959 Jamaica
  19 Oct 1959 Malta and Sierra Leone
  28 Dec 1959 Condominium of the New Hebrides
  12 May 1960 Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and Hong Kong
  12 Jan 1961 British Honduras
  10 Feb 1961 Mauritius
  8 May 1961 Trinidad and Tobago
End Note
1.On depositing the instrument of ratification, the Government of Switzerland declared that the provisions of the Convention will also apply to the Principality of Liechtenstein, so long as it is linked to Switzerland by a customs union treaty.
2.The Secretary-General, received on 6 and 10 June 1997 communications regarding the status of Hong Kong from China and the United Kingdom of Great Brtiain and Northern Ireland (see also note 2 under “China” and note 2 under “United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume).  Upon resuming the exercise of sovereignty over Hong Kong, China notified the Secretary-General that the Convention will continue to apply to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
3.With a reservation that the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria does not consider itself bound by the provisions of article 38 of the Convention relating to compulsory arbitration.
4.The former Yugoslavia had acceeded to the Convention on 29 January  1960. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, “The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.
5.See note 2 under “Germany” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.
6.See note 1 under “Germany” regarding Berlin (West) in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.
7.See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
8.The signature was affixed for the Kingdom in Europe.  The instrument of ratification provides that the Convention was ratified for the Kingdom in Europe, for Surinam, for the Netherlands Antilles and Netherlands New Guinea. See also note 1 under “Netherlands” regarding Aruba/Netherlands Antilles  in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.
9.The Government of Spain had deposited an instrument of accession on 29 July 1958 (See,See, C.N.115.1958 TREATIES-2 of 5 August 1958).  On 2 October 1958, the Government of Spain withdrew the said instrument and deposited a new instrument of accession containing a declaration, made under paragraph 1 of article 39 of the Convention, that Spain does not consider itself bound by article 38 of the Convention.
10.Application to Cyprus with the following note:
"It will involve amendment to Customs and Tariff Law which will be made at earliest opportunity.  Facilities as provided by the Convention will be granted by administrative action in respect of any importation that may be made between the date of extension of the Convention to Cyprus and the amendment of the law."