No. 7625. CONVENTION ABOLISHING THE REQUIREMENT OF LEGAL-IZATION FOR FOREIGN PUBLIC DOCUMENTS. OPENED FOR SIGNATURE AT THE HAGUE ON 5 OCTOBER 1961 <sup>1</sup>

# RATIFICATIONS, ACCESSION (a) and SUCCESSIONS (d)

Instruments or notifications deposited with the Government of the Netherlands on:

14 November 1967

Austria

(With effect from 13 January 1968.)

Pursuant to article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention, the Government of Austria has declared that the following authorities are competent to issue the certificates referred to in article 3, paragraph 1, of the Convention:

# [Translation — Traduction]

- "1. The Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs in respect of all documents issued by:
- (a) The Federal President or the Office of the President;
- (b) The President of the National Assembly, the Chairman of the Federal Assembly or the senior officers of Parliament;
- (c) The Federal Government;
- (d) A Federal Ministry;
- (e) The Constitutional Court or the Administrative Court;
- (f) The Supreme Court, the Superior Trust Division of the Supreme Court, the Superior Review commission of the Supreme Court or the Superior Commission on Restitution of the Supreme Court, or
- (g) The Audit Office;
- 2. The presidents of the civil courts of first instance or their deputies authorized to legalize signatures, with the exception of the Vienna Commercial Court and the Vienna juvenile court, in respect of all documents issued by a court

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 527, p. 189, and annex A in volumes 574, 604 and 613.

other than those referred to in paragraph 1 (e) and (f), by a public prosecutor's office, by a notary, by a notary's office or by an attorney's office—in so far as the latter offices are thus engaged in the performance of official Federal functions—within the jurisdiction of the court concerned;

- 3. In respect of all other documents:
- (a) The provincial Governors in so far as documents issued in their Federal provinces in the performances of official Federal functions are concerned, and
- (b) The provincial governments in so far as documents issued in their Federal provinces in the performance of official Federal functions are concerned."

#### 6 December 1968

PORTUGAL

(With effect from 4 February 1969.)

Pursuant to article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention, the Government of Portugal has designated the Attorney-General and the public prosecutors assigned to the appeals courts as the authorities competent to issue the certificates referred to in article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention.

#### 12 June 1967 a

MALTA

(With effect from 2 March 1968.)

Pursuant to article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention, the Government of Malta has designated the Ministry of Commonwealth and Foreign Affairs as the authority competent to issue the certificates referred to in article 3, paragraph 1, of the Convention.

## **16** September 1968 *d*

#### BOTSWANA

The Convention has entered into force between Botswana and the following States on the dates indicated:

State	Date of entry into force
Federal Republic of Germany	3 September 1969
France	3 September 1969
Malta	3 September 1969

No. 7625

No. 7625

State	Date of entry into force
Netherlands	3 September 1969
Austria	3 September 1969
Ireland	3 September 1969
Yugoslavia	3 September 1969
Malawi	2 November 1969
Portugal	2 November 1969
20 December 1968 d	
Mauritius	
The Convention has entered into force between Mau States on the dates indicated:	ritius and the following
State	Date of entry into force
State  Federal Republic of Germany	•
Federal Republic of Germany	into force
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969 3 September 1969 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969 3 September 1969 3 September 1969 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969
Federal Republic of Germany	into force 3 September 1969

Pursuant to article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention, the Government of Mauritius has designated the Master and Registrar of the Supreme Court of Mauritius as the authority competent to issue the certificates referred to in article 3, paragraph 1, of the Convention.

### APPLICATION to territories

Declaration, under article 13 (1) of the Convention, effected with the Government of the Netherlands on:

### 22 October 1969

PORTUGAL

(All overseas territories of Portugal. With effect from 21 December 1969.)

Pursuant to article 6, paragraph 1, of the Convention, the Government of Portugal has designated the Governors-General, in Angola and Mozambique, and the Governors in other provinces, as the authorities competent to issue the certificates referred to in article 3, paragraph 1, of the Convention.

DESIGNATION of authorities under article 6 (2) of the Convention

Notification deposited with the Government of the Netherlands on:

20 November 1968

UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND 1

As of 17 October 1968 the authority competent for the United Kingdom, Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man to issue the certificates referred to in article 3, paragraph 1, of the Convention will be: Her Majesty's Principal Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London, S.W.I.

Certified statement was registered by the Netherlands on 7 April 1970.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> For previous designations of authorities by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, see United Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol. 527, p. 196; vol. 574, p. 272, and vol. 613, p. 417.