No. 4214. CONVENTION OF THE INTER-GOVERNMENTAL MARITIME CONSULTATIVE ORGANIZATION. SIGNED AT GENEVA ON 6 MARCH 1948<sup>1</sup>

Amendment<sup>2</sup> to Article 28 of the above-mentioned Convention. Adopted by the Assembly of the Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization in resolution A.70 (IV) of 28 September 1965

Official texts : English, French and Spanish.

Registered ex officio on 3 November 1968.

## ANNEX

The existing text of Article 28 of the Convention is replaced by the following :

The Maritime Safety Committee shall consist of sixteen members elected by the Assembly from members, Governments of those States having an important interest in maritime safety of which :

(a) Eight members shall be elected from among the ten largest shipowning States.

<sup>4</sup> Came into force on 3 November 1968, i.e., twelve months after their acceptance by two-thirds of the Members of the Organization, in accordance with article 52 of the Convention. Following is the list of States which have accepted the amendment, showing the respective dates of receipt of the instruments of acceptance by the Secretary-General of the Organization and the dates of their deposit with the Secretary-General of the United Nations:

State	Date of receipt of the instrument	Date of deposit of the instrument
Algeria	26 October 1967	3 November 1967
Argentina	30 September 1966	5 October 1966
Australia	20 June 1966	23 June 1966
Belgium	1 June 1966	6 June 1966
Brazil	17 November 1966	30 December 1966
Bulgaria	29 September 1966	3 October 1966
Canada	25 April 1966	29 April 1966
China	22 July 1966	27 July 1966
Czechoslovakia	3 October 1966	6 October 1966
Denmark	10 November 1966	15 November 1966
Federal Republic of Germany	15 July 1966	22 July 1966
Finland	17 January 1967	20 January 1967
France	1 March 1966	14 March 1960
Ghana	17 November 1966	21 November 1966
Iceland	8 March 1967	13 March 1967
India	10 October 1966	13 October 1966
Ireland	20 June 1966	23 June 1966
Israel	6 February 1967	9 February 1967
Ivory Coast	17 March 1967	20 March 1967
Kuwait	2 September 1966	6 September 1966
Lebanon	15 February 1967	20 February 1967
Madagascar	24 January 1966	27 January 1966
Maldive Islands	18 April 1968	22 April 1968

(Footnote 2 continued on p. 336)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> United Nations, *Treaty Series*, Vol. 289, p. 3; for subsequent actions relating to this Convention, see references in Cumulative Indexes Nos. 4 to 7, as well as Annex A in volumes 551, 561, 565, 596, 607, 609, 613 and 636.

- (b) Four members shall be elected in such manner as to ensure that, under this subparagraph, a State in each of the following areas is represented :
  - I. Africa
  - II. The Americas
  - III. Asia and Oceania
  - IV. Europe.
- (c) The remaining four members shall be elected from among States not otherwise represented on the Committee.

For the purpose of this Article, States having an important interest in maritime safety shall include, for example, States interested in the supply of large numbers of crews or in the carriage of large numbers of berthed or unberthed passengers.

Members of the Maritime Safety Committee shall be elected for a term of four years and shall be eligible for re-election.

(Continued from p. 334)		
State	Date of receipt of the instrument	Date of deposit of the instrument
Malta   Mexico   Morocco   Norocco   Netherlands   Nigeria   Norway   Pakistan   Panama   Philippines   Poland   Republic of Korea   Romania   Singapore   Sweden   Switzerland   Trinidad and Tobago	of the instrument 5 September 1966 11 October 1967 24 January 1966 9 May 1967 6 December 1967 18 May 1966 29 June 1966 28 July 1966 31 October 1966 16 August 1966 5 January 1967 10 July 1967 14 February 1966 21 July 1966 9 January 1967 17 April 1967	of the instrument 8 September 1966 16 October 1967 27 January 1966 15 May 1967 11 December 1967 23 May 1966 5 July 1966 2 August 1966 19 August 1966 10 January 1967 27 July 1967 18 February 1966 9 May 1966 26 July 1966 13 January 1967 20 April 1967
Tunisia	16 February 1966 5 June 1967	23 February 1966 9 June 1967
Republics United Arab Republic United Kingdom United States of America Yugoslavia	28 February 1966 13 February 1967 18 May 1966 25 January 1968 22 November 1966	7 March 1966 15 February 1967 23 May 1966 1 February 1968 28 November 1966