[Translation — Traduction]

No. 14759. AGREEMENT BETWEEN CHILE, ECUADOR AND PERU RELATING TO THE ORGANIZATION OF THE PERMANENT COMMISSION OF THE CONFERENCE ON THE EXPLOITATION AND CONSERVATION OF THE MARITIME RESOURCES OF THE SOUTH PACIFIC. SIGNED AT SANTIAGO ON 18 AUGUST 1952'

Agreement³ on the participation of Colombia in the above-mentioned Agreement. Concluded at Quito on 9 August 1979

Authentic text: Spanish,

Registered by Colombia on 12 August 1982.

The Governments of the Republics of Colombia, Chile, Ecuador and Peru, Taking into account:

That on 18 August 1952 the Declaration on the Maritime Zone was signed at Santiago;³

That the aforesaid instrument, as well as the declarations, agreements and regulations supplementing it, aims among other objectives to guarantee, through the exercise of sovereignty and jurisdiction in the 200-mile maritime zone, the right to make use of the natural resources of the sea, the sea-bed and the subsoil thereof and to ensure for their peoples the necessary conditions of subsistence and the resources for their economic and social development:

That the South Pacific, by reason of its geographical, biological, oceanographic and ecological characteristics, is a maritime region whose special features distinguish it from other regions;

That the maritime areas of the Republic of Colombia in the Pacific Ocean are part of the above-mentioned South Pacific region;

That it is appropriate for the Republic of Colombia to co-operate for the attainment of the common goals pursued by the other Republics of the South Pacific system;

That the sovereignty and jurisdiction of the Republic of Colombia over its contiguous maritime zone are exercised in the manner and conditions set forth in its Act No. 10 of 4 August 1978 and other relevant legislation;

That the exclusive sovereignty referred to in paragraph II of the Santiago Declaration extends also to the exploration, conservation and management of the living and non-living natural resources of the sea-bed, the subsoil thereof and the superjacent waters and, further, that the exclusive jurisdiction proclaimed therein is to be exercised also with respect to scientific research and the protection of the marine environment;

That none of the aforementioned principles and fundamental norms shall affect the sovereignty and jurisdiction of the States parties over their respective continental shelves beyond the 200-mile limit, as established in international law;

Have agreed as follows:

Article I. The Republics of Chile, Ecuador and Peru agree that the Republic of Colombia should become a contracting party to the Agreement relating to the organization of the Per-

¹ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 1006, p. 331.

² Came into force on 24 March 1980, i.e., upon the deposit of the last of the instruments of ratification of the Contracting Parties, in accordance with article III.

³ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 1006, p. 323.

manent Commission of the Conference on the Exploitation and Conservation of the Marine Resources of the South Pacific of 18 August 1952¹ and to the Convention on the international legal personality of the Permanent Commission of the South Pacific of 14 January 1966.²

Article II. The Republic of Colombia declares its willingness to become a contracting party to each of the instruments referred to in the preceding article.

Article III. This Agreement shall be submitted for approval in accordance with the established procedures of each of the Parties. It shall enter into force after the Government of Colombia has subscribed to the principles and fundamental norms contained in the Declaration on the Maritime Zone, signed at Santiago on 18 August 1952, and on the date on which the last instrument of ratification by the Contracting Parties has been deposited with the Secretariat of the Permanent Commission of the South Pacific.

Transitional article. The Permanent Commission of the South Pacific shall be authorized to adopt provisions to facilitate the application of this Agreement pending its ratification, in order to allow the functional and operational provisions of this instrument to take effect.

In witness whereof the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Colombia, Diego Uribe Vargas; of Chile, Hernán Cubillos Sallato; of Ecuador, José Ayalo Lasso; and of Peru, Dr. Carlos García Bedoya, sign this Agreement in quadruplicate at Quito on 9 August 1979.

DIEGO URIBE VARGAS
Minister for Foreign Affairs
of Colombia

José Ayala Lasso Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ecuador HERNÁN CUBILLOS SALLATO Minister for Foreign Affairs of Chile

Carlos García Bedoya Minister for Foreign Affairs of Peru

¹ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 1006, p. 331.

² Ibid., vol. 1098, p. 223.