8Agreement on the Privileges and Immunities of the International Tribunal for the Law of the SeaNew York, 23 May 199730 December 2001, in accordance with article 30(1).30 December 2001, No. 37925Signatories21Parties41United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 2167, p. 271; and depositary notifications C.N.495.1998.TREATIES-5 of 7 October 1998 (procès-verbal of rectification of the French authentique texte); C.N.858.2006.TREATIES-7 of 19 October 2006 (Corrections to the authentique Russian text of the Agreement).The Agreement was adopted on 23 May 1997 at the Seventh Meeting of the States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982. In accordance with its article 27, the Agreement was opened for signature by all States at United Nations Headquarters for a period of twenty-four months as from 1 July 1997.
ParticipantSignatureUndertaking of provisional application in accordance with article 31Ratification, Accession(a)Argentina 2 Jun 1998 20 Oct 2006 Australia26 May 1999 11 May 2001 Austria 1 Oct 2001 aBelgium19 Mar 1999 30 Mar 2007 Belize14 Sep 2005 aBolivia (Plurinational State of)18 May 2006 aBulgaria26 Nov 2008 aCameroon30 Jul 2001 aChile27 Sep 2007 aCroatia27 May 1999 8 Sep 2000 Cyprus12 Jun 2003 aCzech Republic26 Oct 2001 aDenmark16 Nov 2004 aEstonia 1 Feb 2008 aFinland31 Mar 1999 28 Jul 2006 France12 May 2011 aGermany18 May 1999 8 Jun 2007 Ghana30 Jun 1999 Greece 1 Jul 1997 17 Oct 2007 India14 Nov 2005 aIreland 9 Feb 2011 aItaly19 Jul 2006 aJamaica 1 Dec 2005 aJordan17 Apr 1998 Kuwait15 Jun 1999 2 Aug 2002 Lebanon15 Jun 1999 23 Jul 2002 Liberia16 Sep 2005 aLithuania 1 Nov 2005 aMalta24 Apr 2013 aNetherlands (Kingdom of the)<superscript>1</superscript>28 Aug 1998 25 Mar 1999 Norway 1 Jul 1997 1 Jul 1997 1 Aug 1997 Oman28 Sep 1998 Panama 1 Mar 2005 aPoland 2 Oct 2007 aPortugal30 Jun 1999 8 Oct 2009 Qatar27 Jul 2005 aRepublic of Korea26 Oct 2004 aRussian Federation26 Jul 2007 aSaudi Arabia30 Nov 2001 aSenegal 1 Jul 1997 Slovakia22 Jun 1999 20 Apr 2000 Slovenia15 Jun 2006 aSpain 9 Jan 2001 aSri Lanka30 Jun 1999 Tunisia 9 Apr 1999 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 3 Dec 1997 17 May 2006 United Republic of Tanzania17 Dec 1998 Uruguay 6 Jul 2006 a
Declarations and reservations(Unless otherwise indicated, the declarations and reservations were made uponnotification of undertaking of provisional application, ratification or accession.)ArgentinaDeclaration:The Republic of Argentina will accord such privileges and immunities as are specified in the Agreement on the Privileges and Immunities of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, adopted in New York on 23 May 1997, to members of the Secretariat of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea who are nationals or permanent residents in its territory to the extent necessary for the adequate fulfillment of their duties. With regard to fiscal and customs matters those members will be subject to the national norms application in its territory.FranceDeclaration:France intends to limit the exemption from taxation provided for under article 11, paragraph 1, of the Agreement to the salaries and emoluments paid by the Tribunal to members and officials thereof, excluding any allowances paid to them by the Tribunal. Moreover, in the case of members and officials of the Tribunal residing in France, France intends to retain the option to take the exempted income into account in determining the tax rate applicable to the total income of such persons.ItalyDeclaration:"With regard to the above-mentioned Agreement, Italy interprets Article 11, par. 2, and Article 16, paragraph 4 as referred exclusively to income paid by the Court, this excluding any exemption for income from other sources."1 For the Kingdom in Europe. On 7 January 2009, upon its ratification to the Agreement, the Government of the Netherlands notified the Secretary-General that the Agreement will apply to the Netherlands Antilles. <right>23 July 2014</right> Territorial Application in respect of Aruba.