Road Traffic
4European Agreement supplementing the 1949 Convention on road traffic and the 1949 Protocol on road signs and signalsGeneva, 16 September 195020 December 1953, in accordance with article 4.20 December 1953, No. 1671Signatories4Parties15United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 182, p. 286 and vol. 1137, p. 484 (termination).
ParticipantSignatureDefinitive signature(s), Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)Austria<superscript>1</superscript>28 Jun 1951 2 Nov 1955 Belgium16 Sep 1950 23 Apr 1954 France16 Sep 1950 sGreece 1 Jul 1952 aHoly See 1 Oct 1956 aHungary<superscript>2</superscript>30 Jul 1962 aItaly30 Mar 1957 aLiechtenstein 2 Mar 2020 aLuxembourg16 Sep 1950 17 Oct 1952 Montenegro<superscript>3</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dNetherlands (Kingdom of the)<superscript>4</superscript>16 Sep 1950 4 Dec 1952 sPoland29 Oct 1958 aSerbia<superscript>5</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSpain 9 Jun 1960 aUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland16 May 1966 a
LiechtensteinDeclaration with regard to Art. 1 Convention on Road Traffic ad annex 1“The Principality of Liechtenstein does not consider itself bound by the supplementary point concerning annex 1 of the Convention on Road Traffic in accordance with its declaration to the Convention on Road Traffic concluded in Geneva on 19 September 1949 regarding the exclusion of the application of annex 1 to the Principality of Liechtenstein.”1In a communication received on 15 October 1971, the Government of Austria denounced, in accordance with article 3 of the Agreement, the addendum, in article 1 of that Agreement, to annex 1 of the 1949 Convention.2With the declaration that "the Hungarian People's Republic does not consider itself bound by the provisions of article 5 of the Agreement".3See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.4In a communication received on 4 December 1952, the Government of the Netherlands notified the Secretary-General that the reservation as to ratification, made on its behalf upon signature of the Agreement, is to be considered as having been withdrawn. Consequently, the date of 4 December 1952 should be considered as the date of the definitive signature.5The former Yugoslavia had signed definitively the Agreement on 16 September 1950. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, “The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.