Road Traffic
1657United Nations Regulation No. 57. Uniform provisions concerning the approval of headlamps for motor cycles and vehicles treated as such15 June 198315 June 1983, in accordance with article 1(5).15 June 1983, No. 4789Parties40United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 1317, p. 286 and doc. E/ECE/324-E/ECE/TRANS/505/Rev.1/Add.56; vol. 1525, p. 239 and doc. TRANS/SC1/WP29/199 (amendments series 01); vol. 1693, p. 92 and and doc. TRANS/SC1/WP29/306 and 311 (supplement 1 to amendments series 01); vol. 1860, p. 423 and doc. TRANS/SC1/WP29/404 and Corr.1 (supplement 2 to amendments series 01); vol. 1880, p. 631 (procès-verbal concerning modifications) and vol. 2013, p. 518 and doc.TRANS/WP.29/570 (supplement 3 to amendments series 01); C.N.116.2001.TREATIES-1 of 12 March 2001 and doc. TRANS/WP.29/768 (amendments series 02) and C.N.780.2001.TREATIES-2 of 21 September 2001 (adoption).<superscript>1</superscript>
Contracting Parties applying Regulation No. 57<superscript>2</superscript>ParticipantApplication of regulation, Succession(d)Armenia 1 Mar 2018 Austria12 Feb 1998 Belarus 3 May 1995 Belgium 8 Jun 1990 Bosnia and Herzegovina<superscript>3</superscript>28 Sep 1998 dCroatia<superscript>3</superscript>17 Mar 1994 dCzech Republic<superscript>4</superscript> 2 Jun 1993 dEgypt 5 Dec 2012 European Union<superscript>5</superscript>23 Jan 1998 Finland14 Jul 1988 France20 Aug 1986 Germany<superscript>6</superscript> 6 Aug 1986 Hungary15 Sep 1988 Italy<superscript>7</superscript>15 Jun 1983 Latvia19 Nov 1998 Lithuania28 Jan 2002 Luxembourg29 Jun 1990 Malaysia 3 Feb 2006 Montenegro<superscript>8</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dNetherlands (Kingdom of the)<superscript>7</superscript>15 Jun 1983 Nigeria18 Oct 2018 North Macedonia<superscript>3</superscript> 1 Apr 1998 dNorway 6 Jan 1999 Pakistan24 Feb 2020 Philippines 3 Nov 2022 Republic of Moldova21 Sep 2016 Romania 7 Mar 1996 Russian Federation 8 Feb 1996 San Marino27 Nov 2015 Serbia<superscript>3</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSlovakia<superscript>4</superscript>28 May 1993 dSlovenia<superscript>3</superscript> 3 Nov 1992 dSouth Africa18 Apr 2001 Spain 4 Dec 1996 Sweden29 Oct 1983 Switzerland 4 Dec 1995 Türkiye 8 May 2000 Uganda23 Aug 2022 Ukraine 9 Aug 2002 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland26 Feb 1990
1 For additional references to the texts of the annexed regulations and their amendments, see doc. <a href="" target = "_ blank">TRANS/WP.29/343</a> as updated annually.2For technical reasons and in order to align this chapter with all others in the publication, the date indicated is no longer the date of effect of the regulation for the Contracting Party, but the date of receipt of the notification of application by the Secretary-General.3The former Yugoslavia applied Regulation No. 57 as from 31 January 1985. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, “The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.4Czechoslovakia applied Regulation No. 57 as from 18 December 1983. See also note 1 under “Czech Republic” and note 1 under “Slovakia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.5In a letter dated 29 July 1998, the European Community informed the Secretary-General of the following:"The accession of the EC has the effect that the [...] regulations adhered to are not (in cases where a Member State already applied a regulation: no longer) applied by Member States by virtue of their status as Contracting Parties to the Agreement but exclusively in their capacity as Member States of the Contracting Party European Community. Thus, the 14 Member States already Contracting Parties themselves, now apply all [these] regulations by virtue of the EC's accession."... By the EC accession, Ireland has not become a Contracting Party. Only the EC has become a Contracting Party. Ireland being a Member State of this Contracting Party applies the [...] regulations [adhered to by the EC] by virtue of the EC's accession.It will be recalled that, as at 29 July 1999, States Members of the EC are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.6The German Democratic Republic applied Regulation No. 57 as from 9 November 1986.With regard to the above, the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany in a communication received on 14 January 1991, informed the Secretary-General of the following:- [Regulation No. 57 which had] been applied by both the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Democratic Republic shall continue to apply...The notification further states that it “. . . does not constitute a general statement of position by the Federal Republic of Germany on the question of state succession in relation to treaties.”See also note 2 under “Germany” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.7Contracting State having proposed the Regulation and date of entry into force of the Regulation for that State in accordance with article 1 (3).8See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.