Road Traffic
1631United Nations Regulation No. 31. Uniform provisions concerning the approval of power-driven vehicle's halogen sealed-beam headlamps (HSB) emitting a European asymmetrical passing beam or a driving beam or bothGeneva, 1 May 19751 May 1975, in accordance with article 1(5).1 May 1975, No. 4789Parties33United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 966, p. 340 and doc. E/ECE/324-E/ECE/TRANS/505/ Rev.1/Add.30; depositary notification C.N.200.1982.TREATIES-25 of 7 September 1982 and vol. 1300, p. 368 (amendment series 01); C.N.229.1987.TREATIES-43 of3 0 October 1987 and doc. TRANS/SC1/WP29/142 (amendments series 02); vol. 1559, p. 336 and doc. TRANS/SC1/WP29/238(supplement 1 to amendments series 02); vol. 1693, p. 92 and docs. TRANS/SC1/WP29/310 and 306 (supplement 2 to amendments series 02); vol. 1871, p. 471 (procès-verbal concerning modifications); vol. 1963, p. 419 and doc. TRANS/WP.29/497 (supplement 3 to amendments series 02); vol. 2013, p. 518 and doc. TRANS.WP.29/569 (supplement 4 to amendments series 02); C.N.1332.2005.TREATIES-1 of 4 January 2006 and doc. TRANS/WP.29/2005/65 (supplement 5 to amendments série 02) and C.N.524.2006.TREATIES-1 of 10 July 2006 (adoption); C.N.604.2006.TREATIES-1 of 2 August 2006 and doc. TRANS/WP.29/2006/55+Amend.1 (supplement 6 to amendments series 02) and C.N.74.2007.TREATIES-1 of 5 February 2007 (adoption); C.N.289.2008.TREATIES-1 of 15 April 2008 and doc. ECE/TRANS/WP.29/2008/16 (supplement 7 to amendments series 02) and C.N.792.2008.TREATIES-2 of 28 October 2008 (adoption); C.N.20.2013.TREATIES-XI.B.16.31 of 15 January 2013 (proposal of amendments) and C.N.447.2013.TREATIES-XI.B.16.31 of 24 July 2013 (adoption); C.N.984.2013.TREATIES-IX.B.16.31 of 10 December 2013 (proposal of amendments including to the English title only) and C.N.382.2014.TREATIES-XI.B.16.31 of 17 June 2014 (adoption).<superscript>1</superscript>
Contracting Parties applying Regulation No. 31<superscript>2</superscript>ParticipantApplication of regulation, Succession(d)Armenia 1 Mar 2018 Australia 1 Jun 2010 Belarus 3 Jul 2003 Croatia 2 Feb 2001 Denmark21 Oct 1976 Egypt 5 Dec 2012 Estonia26 May 1999 European Union<superscript>3</superscript>23 Jan 1998 Finland19 Jul 1976 Hungary24 Sep 1979 Kyrgyzstan 1 Sep 2023 Latvia19 Nov 1998 Lithuania28 Jan 2002 Luxembourg24 Mar 1997 Malaysia 3 Feb 2006 Netherlands (Kingdom of the) 7 May 1975 New Zealand<superscript>4</superscript>18 Jan 2002 Nigeria18 Oct 2018 Norway25 Mar 1993 Pakistan24 Feb 2020 Philippines 3 Nov 2022 Poland 2 Oct 2001 Republic of Moldova21 Sep 2016 Romania23 Dec 1976 Russian Federation 8 Feb 1996 San Marino27 Nov 2015 Slovakia15 Nov 1996 South Africa18 Apr 2001 Sweden<superscript>5</superscript> 1 May 1975 Switzerland 4 Dec 1995 Türkiye14 Jul 2003 Uganda23 Aug 2022 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1 May 1975
1 For additional references to the texts of the annexed regulations and their amendments, see doc. <a href="" target = "_ blank">TRANS/WP.29/343</a> as updated annually.2For technical reasons and in order to align this chapter with all others in the publication, the date indicated is no longer the date of effect of the regulation for the Contracting Party, but the date of receipt of the notification of application by the Secretary-General.3In a letter dated 29 July 1998, the European Community informed the Secretary-General of the following:"The accession of the EC has the effect that the [...] regulations adhered to are not (in cases where a Member State already applied a regulation: no longer) applied by Member States by virtue of their status as Contracting Parties to the Agreement but exclusively in their capacity as Member States of the Contracting Party European Community. Thus, the 14 Member States already Contracting Parties themselves, now apply all [these] regulations by virtue of the EC's accession."... By the EC accession, Ireland has not become a Contracting Party. Only the EC has become a Contracting Party. Ireland being a Member State of this Contracting Party applies the [...] regulations [adhered to by the EC] by virtue of the EC's accession.It will be recalled that, as at 29 July 1999, States Members of the EC are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.4See note 1 under "New Zealand" regarding Tokelau in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.5Contracting State having proposed the Regulation and date of entry into force of the Regulation for that State in accordance with article 1 (3).