Road Traffic
1625United Nations Regulation No. 25. Uniform provisions concerning the approval of head restraints (headrests), whether or not incorporated in vehicle seats1 March 19721 March 1972, in accordance with article 1(5).1 March 1972, No. 4789Parties45United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 814, p. 416 and doc. E/ECE/324-ECE/TRANS/505/Rev.1/ Add.24/Amend.1 (revised text incorporating amendments series 01); vol. 1425, p. 368 and doc. TRANS/SCI/WP29/112 and Corr.1 (amendments series 02); vol. 1462, p. 358 and doc. E/-ECE/324-ECE/TRANS/505/Rev.l/Add.24/Amend.3 (supplement l to amendments series 02); depositary notification C.N.106.1989.TREATIES-20 of 20 June 1989 and doc. TRANS/ SC1/WP29/233 (amendments series 03); C.N.232.1992.TREATIES-32 of 11 September 1992 (procès-verbal concerning certain modifications); vol. 1763, p. 289 and doc. TRANS/ SC1/WP29/358 (supplement 1 to amendments series 03); vol. 1962, p. 414 and doc. TRANS/WP.29/495 (amendments series 04); C.N.12.2009.TREATIES-1 of 15 January 2009 and doc. ECE/TRANS/WP.29/2008/108 (modifications); C.N.763.2014.TREATIES-IX.B.16.25 of 15 December 2014 (proposal of amendments) and C.N.338.2015.TREATIES-XI.B.16.25 of 19 June 2015 (adoption).<superscript>1</superscript>
Contracting Parties applying Regulation No. 25<superscript>2</superscript>ParticipantApplication of regulation, Succession(d)Armenia 1 Mar 2018 Belarus 3 May 1995 Belgium30 Apr 1979 Bosnia and Herzegovina<superscript>3</superscript>28 Sep 1998 dCroatia<superscript>3</superscript>17 Mar 1994 dCzech Republic<superscript>4</superscript> 2 Jun 1993 dDenmark21 Oct 1976 Egypt 5 Dec 2012 Estonia26 May 1999 European Union<superscript>5</superscript>23 Jan 1998 Finland15 Dec 1977 France<superscript>6</superscript> 1 Mar 1972 Germany<superscript>7</superscript>14 Sep 1973 Greece 4 Oct 1995 Hungary20 Jan 1993 Italy24 Jul 1978 Japan 3 Jul 2002 Latvia19 Nov 1998 Lithuania28 Jan 2002 Luxembourg 2 Mar 1984 Malaysia 3 Feb 2006 Montenegro<superscript>8</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dNetherlands (Kingdom of the) 1 Mar 1972 New Zealand<superscript>9</superscript>18 Jan 2002 Nigeria18 Oct 2018 North Macedonia<superscript>3</superscript> 1 Apr 1998 dNorway23 Dec 1987 Pakistan24 Feb 2020 Philippines 3 Nov 2022 Poland 2 Oct 2001 Republic of Moldova21 Sep 2016 Romania23 Dec 1976 Russian Federation19 Dec 1986 San Marino27 Nov 2015 Serbia<superscript>3</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSlovakia<superscript>4</superscript>28 May 1993 dSlovenia<superscript>3</superscript> 3 Nov 1992 dSouth Africa18 Apr 2001 Spain19 Apr 1984 Sweden 3 Jun 1997 Switzerland 4 Dec 1995 Türkiye 8 May 2000 Uganda23 Aug 2022 Ukraine 9 Aug 2002 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland13 Dec 1972
1For additional references to the texts of the annexed regulations and their amendments, see doc. <a href="" target = "_ blank">TRANS/WP.29/343</a> as updated annually.2For technical reasons and in order to align this chapter with all others in the publication, the date indicated is no longer the date of effect of the regulation for the Contracting Party, but the date of receipt of the notification of application by the Secretary-General.3The former Yugoslavia applied Regulation No. 25 as from 18 October 1983. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, “The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.4Czechoslovakia applied Regulation No. 25 as from 9 December 1975. See also note 1 under “Czech Republic” and note 1 under “Slovakia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.5In a letter dated 29 July 1998, the European Community informed the Secretary-General of the following:"The accession of the EC has the effect that the [...] regulations adhered to are not (in cases where a Member State already applied a regulation: no longer) applied by Member States by virtue of their status as Contracting Parties to the Agreement but exclusively in their capacity as Member States of the Contracting Party European Community. Thus, the 14 Member States already Contracting Parties themselves, now apply all [these] regulations by virtue of the EC's accession."... By the EC accession, Ireland has not become a Contracting Party. Only the EC has become a Contracting Party. Ireland being a Member State of this Contracting Party applies the [...] regulations [adhered to by the EC] by virtue of the EC's accession.It will be recalled that, as at 29 July 1999, States Members of the EC are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.6Contracting State having proposed the Regulation and date of entry into force of the Regulation for that State in accordance with article 1 (3).7The German Democratic Republic applied Regulation No. 25 as from 26 September 1977. With regard to the above, the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany in a communication received on 14 January 1991, informed the Secretary-General of the following: - [Regulation No. 25 which had] been applied by both the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Democratic Republic shall continue to apply... The notification further states that it “. . . does not constitute a general statement of position by the Federal Republic of Germany on the question of state succession in relation to treaties.” See also note 2 under “Germany” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.8See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.9See note 1 under "New Zealand" regarding Tokelau in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.