Road Traffic
10Convention on the Taxation of Road Vehicles for Private Use in International TrafficGeneva, 18 May 195618 August 1959, in accordance with article 6(2).18 August 1959, No. 4844Signatories8Parties23United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 339, p. 3.
ParticipantSignatureAcceptance(A), Accession(a), Succession(d), Ratification, Definitive signature(s)Albania14 Oct 2008 aAustralia 3 May 1961 aAustria18 May 1956 12 Nov 1958 Belgium18 May 1956 Bosnia and Herzegovina<superscript>1</superscript>12 Jan 1994 dCambodia22 Sep 1959 aCzech Republic<superscript>2</superscript> 2 Jun 1993 dDenmark 9 Feb 1968 aFinland18 May 1956 sFrance18 May 1956 20 May 1959 Germany<superscript>3,4</superscript> 7 Jul 1961 aGhana18 Aug 1959 aIreland31 May 1962 aLuxembourg18 May 1956 28 May 1965 Malta22 Nov 1966 aMontenegro<superscript>5</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dNetherlands (Kingdom of the)<superscript>6</superscript>18 May 1956 20 Apr 1959 Norway 9 Jul 1965 aPoland<superscript>7</superscript>18 May 1956 4 Sep 1969 Romania10 Jul 1967 aSerbia<superscript>1</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSlovakia<superscript>2</superscript>28 May 1993 dSweden18 May 1956 16 Jan 1958 United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland18 May 1956 15 Jan 1963
Declarations and Reservations(Unless otherwise indicated, the declarations and reservations were madeupon definitive signature, ratification, accession or succession.)Czech Republic<superscript>1</superscript>Poland<superscript>7</superscript>RomaniaThe Socialist Republic of Romania does not consider itself bound by the provisions of article 10, paragraphs 2 and 3, of the Convention, its position being that a dispute concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention cannot be submitted to arbitration without the consent of all the parties in dispute.The Council of State of the Socialist Republic of Romania believes that the maintenance of the state of dependence of certain territories to which the regulations of article 9 of the Convention refer is not in harmony with the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 14 December 1960 in resolution 1514 (XV), in which the necessity of bringing to a speedy and unconditional end colonialism in all its forms and manifestations is proclaimed.Slovakia<superscript>1</superscript>Territorial Application
ParticipantDate of receipt of the notificationTerritories
Australia 3 May 1961Papua and Trust Territory of New GuineaNetherlands (Kingdom of the)<superscript>6</superscript>20 Apr 1959Netherlands Antilles, Netherlands New Guinea and SurinameUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland15 Jan 1963Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney and the Isle of Man 6 Jun 1963Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and Gibraltar18 Jul 1963British Virgin Islands and Seychelles26 Jul 1963Montserrat and St. Lucia 8 Nov 1963British Guiana, Brunei, St. Vincent and Zanzibar 6 May 1964Mauritius
1The former Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 18 May 1956 and 8 April 1960, respectively. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, “The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.2Czechoslovakia had acceded to the Convention on 2 July 1962, with a declaration. For the text of the declaration, see United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 431, p. 316. See also note 1 under “Czech Republic” and note 1 under “Slovakia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.3See note 2 under “Germany” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.4See note 1 under “Germany” regarding Berlin (West) in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.5See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.6See note 1 under “Netherlands” regarding Aruba/Netherlands Antilles in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.7On 16 October 1997, the Government of Poland notified the Secretary-General that it had decided to withdraw its reservation with regard to article 10, paragraphs 2 and 3 of the Convention made upon ratification. For the text of the reservation see United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 689, p. 362.