5. ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF AN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICA

Accra, 4 May 1967

ENTRY INTO FORCE: 4 May 1967, in accordance with article 7(2).

REGISTRATION: 4 May 1967, No. 8623.

STATUS: Parties: 12.

TEXT: United Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol. 595, p. 287.

Note: Adopted by the West African Sub-regional Conference on Economic Co-operation, held at Accra from 27 April to 4 May 1967.)

The Articles of Association for the Establishment of an Economic Community of West Africa done at Accra on 4 May 1967 were concluded "pending the formal establishment of the Community" (preamble). Thereafter, two additional agreements were concluded: (1) the Treaty establishing the Community of West Africa, concluded at Abidjan on 17 April 1973 between the Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Upper Volta (came into force on 1 January 1974 and deposited with the Government of Upper Volta); and (2) the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), concluded at Lagos on 28 May 1975 between Benin, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo and Upper Volta (came into force on 20 June 1975 and deposited with the Government of Nigeria.

Participant	Definitive signature(s)	Participant	Definitive signature(s)
Benin	4 May 1967 s	Mauritania	4 May 1967 s
Burkina Faso	4 May 1967 s	Niger	4 May 1967 s
Gambia	21 Nov 1967 s	Nigeria	4 May 1967 s
Ghana	4 May 1967 s	Senegal	4 May 1967 s
Liberia	4 May 1967 s	Sierra Leone	4 May 1967 s
Mali	4 May 1967 s	Togo	4 May 1967 s