7Convention for Limiting the Manufacture and Regulating the Distribution of Narcotic DrugsGeneva, 13 July 1931, and Lake Success, New York, 11 December 1946<superscript>1</superscript>21 November 1947 , the date on which the amendments to the Convention, as set forth in the annex to the Protocol of 11 December 1946, entered into force, in accordance with paragraph 2 of article VII of the Protocol.9 July 1933, No. 3219League of Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 139, p. 303.<i>In accordance with its article 44 (1), the provisions of the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs, 1961, as amended by the Protocol amending the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs, 1961 of 8 August 1975, as between the parties thereto, terminates and replaces the provisions of the above Convention. See chapter VI.18. </i>
Participant<superscript>2</superscript>Definitive signature of the Protocol, Acceptance of the Protocol, Succession to the Convention and the Protocol, Ratification of the Convention and the ProtocolRatification of the Convention as amended, Accession to the Convention as amended(a), Succession to the Convention as amended(d)Afghanistan11 Dec 1946 Albania23 Jun 1947 Algeria31 Oct 1963 aArgentina11 Dec 1946 Australia28 Aug 1947 Austria17 May 1950 Bahamas13 Aug 1975 Belgium11 Dec 1946 Benin 5 Dec 1961 dBrazil17 Dec 1946 Burkina Faso26 Apr 1963 aCambodia<superscript>2</superscript> 3 Oct 1951 dCameroon20 Nov 1961 dCanada11 Dec 1946 Central African Republic 4 Sep 1962 dChile11 Dec 1946 China<superscript>3</superscript>11 Dec 1946 Colombia11 Dec 1946 Congo15 Oct 1962 dCôte d'Ivoire 8 Dec 1961 dCzech Republic<superscript>4</superscript>30 Dec 1993 dDemocratic Republic of the Congo31 May 1962 dDenmark15 Jun 1949 Dominican Republic11 Dec 1946 Ecuador 8 Jun 1951 Egypt13 Sep 1948 Ethiopia 9 Sep 1947 Fiji 1 Nov 1971 Finland 3 Feb 1948 France10 Oct 1947 Germany<superscript>5</superscript>12 Aug 1959 Ghana 7 Apr 1958 dGreece21 Feb 1949 Guinea26 Apr 1962 dHaiti31 May 1951 Honduras11 Dec 1946 Hungary16 Dec 1955 India11 Dec 1946 Indonesia 3 Apr 1958 aIran (Islamic Republic of)11 Dec 1946 Iraq14 Sep 1950 Ireland18 Feb 1948 Israel16 May 1952 aItaly25 Mar 1948 Jamaica26 Dec 1963 dJapan27 Mar 1952 Jordan12 Apr 1954 aLao People's Democratic Republic<superscript>2</superscript> 7 Oct 1950 dLebanon13 Dec 1946 Lesotho 4 Nov 1974 dLiechtenstein<superscript>6</superscript>25 Sep 1947 Malawi22 Jul 1965 dMalaysia21 Aug 1958 dMauritius18 Jul 1969 dMexico11 Dec 1946 Monaco21 Nov 1947 Montenegro<superscript>7</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dMorocco 7 Nov 1956 dNetherlands (Kingdom of the)10 Mar 1948 New Zealand<superscript>8</superscript>11 Dec 1946 Nicaragua24 Apr 1950 Niger25 Aug 1961 dNigeria26 Jun 1961 dNorway 2 Jul 1947 Panama15 Dec 1946 Papua New Guinea28 Oct 1980 Philippines25 May 1950 Poland11 Dec 1946 Romania11 Oct 1961 Russian Federation25 Oct 1947 Rwanda 5 May 1964 dSaudi Arabia11 Dec 1946 Senegal 2 May 1963 dSerbia<superscript>9</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSierra Leone13 Mar 1962 dSlovakia<superscript>4</superscript>28 May 1993 dSouth Africa24 Feb 1948 Spain26 Sep 1955 Sri Lanka 4 Dec 1957 aSweden17 Oct 1947 Switzerland<superscript>6</superscript>25 Sep 1947 Syrian Arab Republic11 Dec 1946 Thailand27 Oct 1947 Togo27 Feb 1962 dTrinidad and Tobago11 Apr 1966 dTürkiye11 Dec 1946 Uganda20 Oct 1965 aUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland11 Dec 1946 United Republic of Tanzania 3 Jul 1964 aUnited States of America12 Aug 1947 Zambia 9 Apr 1973 d
Territorial Application
ParticipantDate of receipt of the notificationTerritories
France17 Mar 1950Archipelago of the New Hebrides under French and British CondominiumUnited Kingdom 5 Apr 1949Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony17 Mar 1950New Hebrides13 Feb 1952Basutoland, Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland
1The Agreement was amended by the Protocol signed at Lake Success, New York, on 11 December 1946.2The Republic of Viet-Nam had succeeded to the Convention on 11 August 1950.By joint notifications received from the Governments of France and Viet-Nam on 11 August 1950; from the Governments of France and Laos, on 7 October 1950; and from the Governments of France and Cambodia on 3 October 1951, notice was given of the transfer of functions by the French Government to the Government of the Republic of Viet-Nam, Laos and Cambodia of the duties and obligations arising from the application of the Convention in these countries. It should be noted that the Republic of Viet-Nam succeeded to the Convention on 11 August 1950. See also note 1 under “Viet Nam” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.3See note concerning signatures, ratifications, accessions, etc. on behalf of China (note 1 under “China” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume).4Czechoslovakia, by virtue of its definitive signature on 11 December 1946 of the Protocol of 11 December 1946 amending the Convention of 1931, became a party to the Convention on the date of that signature. See also note 1 under “Czech Republic” and note 1 under “Slovakia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.5See note 2 under “Germany” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.6The instrument of acceptance of the Protocol by the Government of the Swiss Confederation stipulates that the declaration of acceptance is also valid for the Principality of Liechtenstein.7See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.8See note 1 under “New Zealand” regarding Tokelau in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.9The former Yugoslavia had acceeded to the Convention as amended on 10 June 1949. See also note 1 under "Bosnia and Herzegovina", "Croatia", "former Yugoslavia", "Slovenia", "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and "Yugoslavia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.