9Convention on special missionsNew York, 8 December 196921 June 1985, in accordance with article 53(1).21 June 1985, No. 23431Signatories12Parties40United Nations, <i>Treaty Series </i>, vol. 1400, p. 231.The present Convention was opened for signature by all States Members of the United Nations or of any of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency or Parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice, and by any other State invited by the General Assembly of the United Nations to become a Party to the Convention, from 16 December 1969 until 31 December 1970 at United Nations Headquarters in New York.
Participant<superscript>1</superscript>SignatureRatification, Accession(a), Succession(d)Argentina18 Dec 1969 13 Oct 1972 Austria22 Aug 1978 aBelarus28 Aug 1997 aBosnia and Herzegovina<superscript>2</superscript> 1 Sep 1993 dBulgaria14 May 1987 aChile19 Oct 1979 aColombia29 Oct 2004 aCroatia<superscript>2</superscript>12 Oct 1992 dCuba 9 Jun 1976 aCyprus18 Sep 1970 24 Jan 1972 Czech Republic<superscript>3</superscript>22 Feb 1993 dDemocratic People's Republic of Korea22 May 1985 aEl Salvador18 Dec 1970 Estonia21 Oct 1991 aFiji18 Oct 1972 aFinland28 Dec 1970 Georgia22 Jun 2005 aGuatemala12 Feb 1988 aIndonesia 4 Jun 1982 aIran (Islamic Republic of) 5 Jun 1975 aIsrael 9 Nov 1970 Jamaica18 Dec 1969 Liberia16 Sep 2005 aLiechtenstein15 Dec 1970 3 Aug 1977 Lithuania 5 Aug 2004 aMexico31 Jan 1979 aMontenegro<superscript>4</superscript>23 Oct 2006 dNicaragua18 Sep 1970 North Macedonia29 Dec 2005 dParaguay19 Sep 1975 aPhilippines16 Dec 1969 26 Nov 1976 Poland22 Mar 1977 aRwanda29 Nov 1977 aSaudi Arabia10 May 2022 aSerbia<superscript>2</superscript>12 Mar 2001 dSeychelles28 Dec 1977 aSlovakia<superscript>3</superscript>28 May 1993 dSlovenia<superscript>2</superscript> 6 Jul 1992 dSpain31 May 2001 aState of Palestine22 Mar 2018 aSwitzerland31 Jul 1970 3 Nov 1977 Tonga18 Jan 1977 aTunisia19 Aug 1970 2 Nov 1971 Ukraine27 Aug 1993 aUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland17 Dec 1970 Uruguay17 Dec 1980 a
Declarations and Reservations(Unless otherwise indicated, the declarations and reservations were madeupon ratification, accession or succession.)BulgariaReservation concerning article 8:In accordance with the principle of the sovereign equality of States, the People's Republic of Bulgaria considers that in case of difference on specifying the size of the special mission, this question should be settled by agreement between the sending State and the receiving State.Reservation concerning article 25:The People's Republic of Bulgaria does not accept the provision of article 25, paragraph 1 of the Convention, according to which the agents of the receiving State may enter the premises where the special mission is established in case of fire or other disaster without the express consent of the head of the special mission or, where appropriate, of the head of the permanent mission.Declaration:The People's Republic of Bulgaria considers it necessary to underline that article 50 of the Convention, which precludes a number of States from becoming parties to it, is of an unjustifiably restrictive character. This provision is incompatible with the very nature of the Convention, which is of a universal character and should be open for accession by all States.CubaReservation:The Revolutionary Government of the Republic of Cuba enters an express reservation with regard to the third sentence of paragraph 1 of article 25 of the Convention, and consequently does not accept the assumption of consent to enter the premises of the special mission for any of the reasons mentioned in that paragraph or for any other reasons.Declaration:The Revolutionary Government of the Republic of Cuba considers the provisions of articles 50 and 52 of the Convention to be discriminatory in nature because, whereas the Convention deals with matters affecting the interests of all States, the said provisions deny a number of States the right to sign and accede to the Convention, a situation which is contrary to the principle of the sovereign equality of States.Czech Republic<superscript>3</superscript>Slovakia<superscript>3</superscript>1Signed on behalf of the Republic of China on 28 December 1970. See also note 1 under “China” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.2The former Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 18 December 1969 (See, <a href="../doc/Publication/CN/1970/CN.14.1970-Eng.pdf target="_blank">C.N.14.1970.TREATIES-1</a>) and 5 March 1974, respectively. See also note 1 under “Bosnia and Herzegovina”, “Croatia”, “former Yugoslavia”, “Slovenia”, "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and “Yugoslavia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.3Czechoslovakia had acceded to the Convention on 1 October 1976 with a reservation. For the text of the reservation, see United Nations, <i>Treaty Series</i>, vol. 1400, p. 338. See also note 1 under “Czech Republic” and note 1 under “Slovakia” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.4See note 1 under “Montenegro” in the “Historical Information” section in the front matter of this volume.