POSTAL ADDRESS-ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

Reference: C.N.450.2023.TREATIES-IV.4 (Depositary Notification)

Reissued in French only on 22 January 2024

## INTERNATIONAL COVENANT ON CIVIL AND POLITICAL RIGHTS NEW YORK, 16 DECEMBER 1966

PERU: NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 4 (3) 1

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

The above action was effected on 10 October 2023.

(Translation) (Original: Spanish)

## 7-1-S/2023/229

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat and, in accordance with article 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, bearing in mind what is stated in note verbale LA 41 TR/2017/IV-4/Peru/1, dated 1 March 2017, has the honour to report the following:

• By Supreme Decree No. 111-2023-PCM, dated 4 October 2023, the Government of Peru has extended the state of emergency in the districts of the provinces of Huanca and La Mar (Department of Ayacucho), in the province of Tayacaja (Department of Huancavelica), in the province of La Convención (Department of Cusco), and in the provinces of Satipo, Concepción and Huancayo (Department of Junín) for a period of 60 calendar days from 9 October 2023.

Item	District	Province	Department
1.	Ayahuanco	Huanta	Ayacucho
2.	Santillana		
3.	Sivia		
4.	Llochegua		
5.	Canayre		
6.	Uchuraccay		
7.	Pucacolpa		
8.	Putis		
9.	Anco	La Mar	
10.	Ayna		
11.	Santa Rosa		
12.	Samugari		
13.	Anchihuay		
14.	Río Magdalena		
15.	Unión Progreso		

The text of Supreme Decree No. 111-2023-PCM of the Republic of Peru attached to the notification is on file with the Secretary-General and is available for consultation.

- 2 - (IV.4)

16.	Huachocolpa	Tayacaja	Huancavelica
17.	Tintaypuncu		
18.	Roble		
19.	Andaymarca		
20.	Colcabamba		
21.	Cochabamba		
22.	Kimbiri	La Convención	Cusco
23.	Pichari		
24.	Villa Kintiarina		
25.	Villa Virgen		
26.	Echarate		
27.	Megantoni		
28.	kumpirushiato		
29.	Cielo Punco		
30.	Unión Ashaninka		
31.	Manitea		
32.	Mazamari	Satipo	Junín
33.	Pangoa		
34.	Vizcatán del Ene		
35.	Río Tambo		
36.	Andamarca	Concepción	
37.	Santo Domingo de	Huancayo	
	Acobamba		
TOTAL	37	7	4

• The state of emergency has been extended in view of the continuity of terrorist activities and the commission of other illegal activities in the aforementioned areas. During the state of emergency, the constitutional rights relating to liberty and security of person, inviolability of the home and freedom of assembly and movement in the territory, included in articles 9, 12, 17 and 21 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, are suspended.

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations takes this opportunity to convey to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat, the renewed assurances of its highest consideration.

New York, 9 October 2023

\*\*\*

13 October 2023

DN