UNITED NATIONS



NATIONS UNIES

POSTAL ADDRESS-ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

Reference: C.N.233.2023.TREATIES-IV.4 (Depositary Notification)

INTERNATIONAL COVENANT ON CIVIL AND POLITICAL RIGHTS NEW YORK, 16 DECEMBER 1966

PERU: NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 4 (3)¹

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

The above action was effected on 10 August 2023.

(Translation) (Original: Spanish)

7-1-S/2023/183

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat, and, in accordance with article 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, bearing in mind what is stated in note verbale LA 41 TR/2017/IV-4/Peru/1, dated 1 March 2017, has the honour to report the following:

• Through Supreme Decree No. 088-2023-PCM, dated 3 August 2023, the Government of Peru extended the state of emergency for a period of 60 calendar days starting 10 August 2023 until 8 October 2023 in the following districts:

ÍTEM CENTRO POBLAD	DISTRITO	PROVINCIA	DEPARTAMENTO
1	Ayahuanco		
2	Santillana		
3	Sivia		
4	Llochegua	Huanta	Ayacucho
5	Canayre		Ayacucho
6	Uchuraccay		
7	Pucacolpa		
8	Putis		

¹ The text of Supreme Decree No. 088-2023-PCM of the Republic of Peru attached to the notification is on file with the Secretary-General and is available for consultation.

9Anco10Ayna11Chungui12Santa Rosa13Samugari14Anchihuay15Rio Magdalena16Unión Progreso17Huachocolpa18Surcubamba19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Celeharate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	ÍTEM	CENTRO POBLADO	DISTRITO	PROVINCIA	DEPARTAMENTO
InitialChungui11Chungui12Santa Rosa13Santa Rosa14Anchihuay15Río Magdalena16Unión Progreso17Huachocolpa18Surcubamba19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Mainteinia30Villa Kintarina31Willa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea	9		Anco		
12Santa Rosa13Sanugari14Anchihuay15Río Magdalena16Unión Progreso17Huachocolpa18Surcubamba19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Colcabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Kintiarina31Sila33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Unión Ashaninka	10		Ayna		
Independent of the second se	11		Chungui		
13Samugari14Anchihuay15Río Magdalena16Unión Progreso17Huachocolpa18Surcubamba19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea	12		Santa Rosa	- La Mari	Americka
Initial Contract of Contra	13		Samugari	_ La Mar	Ауасиспо
16Unión Progreso17Huachocolpa18Surcubamba19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea	14		Anchihuay		
17Huachocolpa SurcubambaTayacajaHuancavelica18SurcubambaTayacajaHuancavelica19TintaypuncuTintaypuncuTayacajaHuancavelica20RobleRoble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26PachamarcaChurcampa27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	15		Río Magdalena		
Image:	16		Unión Progreso		
19Tintaypuncu20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	17		Huachocolpa		
20Roble21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea	18		Surcubamba	Tayacaja	Huancavelica
21Andaymarca22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	19		Tintaypuncu		
22Colcabamba23Cochabamba24Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	20		Roble		
23Cochabamba24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea	21		Andaymarca		
24Lambras25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	22		Colcabamba		
25Chinchihuasi26Pachamarca26Pachamarca27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	23		Cochabamba		
26PachamarcaChurcampa27San Pedro de CorisChurcampa28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Cielo Punco35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	24		Lambras	-	
27San Pedro de Coris28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	25		Chinchihuasi		
28Kimbiri29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	26		Pachamarca	Churcampa	
29Pichari30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	27		San Pedro de Coris		
30Villa Kintiarina31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	28		Kimbiri		
31Villa Virgen32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	29		Pichari		
32Echarate33Megantoni34Kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	30		Villa Kintiarina		
33MegantoniLa ConvenciónCusco34kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	31		Villa Virgen		
30Mainten34kumpirushiato35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	32		Echarate		
35Cielo Punco36Manitea37Unión Ashaninka	33		Megantoni	La Convención	Cusco
36 Manitea 37 Unión Ashaninka	34		kumpirushiato		
37 Unión Ashaninka	35		Cielo Punco		
	36		Manitea		
38 Yuveni Vilcabamba (*)	37		Unión Ashaninka		
	38	Yuveni	Vilcabamba (*)		

(*) In the department of Cusco, province of Convención of the district of Vilcabamba, the state of emergency is declared only in the community of Yuveni.

	CENTRO POBLADO	DISTRITO	PROVINCIA	DEPARTAMENTO
39		Mazamari		
40		Pangoa	Satipo	
41		Vizcatán del Ene		
42		Río Tambo		Junín
43		Andamarca	Concepción	
44		Santo Domingo de Acobamba		
45		Pariahuanca	Huancayo	
TOTAL	1	44	8	4

• The reason for the extension is to strengthen the fight against terrorist activities and the commission of other crimes in said areas. During the state of emergency, the constitutional rights related to liberty and security of person, the inviolability of the home and the freedom of assembly and movement in the territory, included in Articles 9, 12, 17 and 21 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, are suspended.

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations takes this opportunity to convey to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat, the renewed assurances of its highest consideration.

New York 10 August 2023

15 August 2023