POSTAL ADDRESS-ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

Reference: C.N.406.2019.TREATIES-IV.4 (Depositary Notification)

INTERNATIONAL COVENANT ON CIVIL AND POLITICAL RIGHTS NEW YORK, 16 DECEMBER 1966

PERU: NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 4 (3)

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

The above notification was originally received on 8 May 2019. Subsequently, on 27 August 2019, Peru provided the Secretary-General with further required information.

(Translation) (Original: Spanish)

7-1-S/090

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat, and, in accordance with article 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, bearing in mind what is stated in note verbale LA 41 TR/2017/IV-4/Peru/1, dated 1 March 2017, has the honour to report the following:

- 1. Supreme Decree No. 009-2019-PCM was issued on 25 January 2019.1
- 2. The Supreme Decree declares for a period of sixty (60) days, with effect from 29 January 2019 until 29 March 2019, the State of Emergency in districts of Ayahuanco, Santillana, Sivia, Llochegua, Canayre, Uchuraccay, and Pucacolpa of the province of Huanta and in the districts of Anco, Ayna, Chungui, Santa Rosa, Samugari, Anchihuay, of the province of La Mar of the department of Ayacucho; in the districts of, Huachocolpa, Surcubamba, Tintaypuncu, Roble, Andaymarca and Colcabamba of the province of Tayacaja and in the districts of Chinchihuasi, Pachamarca, San Pedro de Goris of the province of Churcampa of the department of Huancavelica; in the districts of Echarate, Kimbiri, Pichari, Villa Kintiarina and Villa Virgen in the province of La Convencion in the department of Cusco; and, in the districts of Mazamari, Pangoa, Vizcatan of the Eney Rio Tambe of the province of Satipo, in the district of Andamarca of the province of Concepción and in the districts of Santo Domingo de Acobamba and Pariahuanca of the province of Huancayo, of the department of Junin.

The text of Supreme Decree No. 009-2019-PCM is on file with the Secretary-General and is available for consultation.

- 2 - (IV.4)

- 3. Likewise, the Supreme Decree, in its article 2, extends for a period of thirty (30) days, with effect from 29 January to 27 February 2019, the State of Emergency in the districts of Oronccoy, San Miguel and Tambo of the province of La Mar, the districts of Chaca, Luricocha and Huanta of the province of Huanta of the department of Ayacucho; the districts of Quishuar, Pampas, Daniel Hernandez. Salcahuasi and Salcabamba of the province of Tayacaja, the districts of Paucarbamba, Churcampa and La Merced of the province of Churcampa in the department of Huancavelica; the district of Comas of the province of Concepcion; the districts of Pampa Hermosa and Llaylla of the province of Satipo of the department of Junin; and the districts of Inkawasi and Vilcabamba, of the province of La Convención of the department of Cusco.
- 4. During the state of emergency established by the aforementioned Supreme Decree, the rights relating to liberty and security of person, inviolability of the home and freedom of assembly and movement within the territory, recognized in articles 9, 17, 21 and 12 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, are suspended.
- 5. The present state of emergency was declared in order to ensure the maintenance of public order and to prevent acts of violence or any criminal offense that could be committed in that area.

6 September 2019

