UNITED NATIONS WATIONS UNIES

POSTAL ADDRESS---ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017
CABLE ADDRESS---ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE: UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE: C.N.81.1998.TREATIES-2 (Depositary Notification)

UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION ON THE LAW OF THE SEA CONCLUDED AT MONTEGO BAY, JAMAICA, ON 10 DECEMBER 1982

NOMINATION OF ARBITRATORS BY FRANCE AND
THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND
UNDER ARTICLE 2 OF ANNEX VII OF THE CONVENTION

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

On 4 and 19 February 1998, the Governments of France and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, notified the Secretary-General of the following nomination of arbitrators for the purposes of article 2 of annex VII of the above Convention:

FRANCE

- Daniel Bardonnet, Secretary-General of The Hague Academy of International Law, Member of the International Law Institute,
- Pierre-Marie Dupuy, Professor at the University of Paris II,
- Jean-Pierre Queneudec, Professor at the University of Paris I,
- Laurent Lucchini, Professor at the University of Paris I and at the Oceanographic Institute.

UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND

- Professor Christopher Greenwood
- Professor Elihu Lauterpacht CBE QC
- Sir Arthur Watts KCMG QC

23 April 1998

Mr

Attention: Treaty Services of Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of international organizations concerned

CORRESPONDENCE UNIT

143 MEMBER STATES plus 6 NON-MEMBERS

ENGLISH AND SPANISH

AFGHANISTAN ETHIOPIA MICRONESIA SRI LANKA ANGOLA FIJI MONGOLIA SUDAN ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA MOZAMBIQUE FINLAND SURINAME ARMENIA GAMBIA MYANMAR SWAZILAND AUSTRALIA GEORGIA NAMIBIA SWEDEN GERMANY AUSTRIA NEPAL SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC AZERBAIJAN GHANA NETHERLANDS TAJIKISTAN GREECE NEW ZEALAND THAILAND BAHAMAS BAHRAIN GRENADA NICARAGUA THE FORMER YUGOSLAV GUATEMALA BANGLADESH NIGERIA REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA BARBADOS GUYANA NORWAY TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO HONDURAS OMAN TURKEY BELIZE HUNGARY PAKISTAN TURKMENISTAN BHUTAN ICELAND PALAU UGANDA PANAMA UKRAINE BOLIVIA INDIA BOSNIA AND PAPUA NEW GUINEA INDONESIA UNITED ARAB EMIRATES HERZEGOVINA IRAN PERU UNITED KINGDOM IRAO PHILIPPINES UNITED REPUBLIC BOTSWANA BRAZIL IRELAND POLAND OF TANZANIA BRUNEI DARUSSALAM UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ISRAEL PORTUGAL BULGARIA JAMAICA **QATAR** URUGUAY CANADA JAPAN REPUBLIC OF KOREA UZBEKISTAN CHILE JORDAN REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA VANUATU RUSSIAN FEDERATION CHINA KAZAKHSTAN VENEZUELA SAINT KITTS AND COLOMBIA KENYA VIET NAM COSTA RICA YEMEN KUWAIT NEVIS SAINT LUCIA CROATIA KYRGYZSTAN YUGOSLAVIA SAINT VINCENT AND CUBA LATVIA ZAMBIA **CYPRUS** LESOTHO THE GRENADINES ZIMBABWE CZECH REPUBLIC LIBERIA SAMOA DEMOCRATIC PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF KOREA LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA SAUDI ARABIA SEYCHELLES LIECHTENSTEIN SIERRA LEONE NON-MEMBER STATES DENMARK LITHUANIA DOMINICA SINGAPORE MALAWI

SLOVAKIA

SLOVENIA

SOMALIA

SPAIN

SOLOMON ISLANDS

SOUTH AFRICA

COOK ISLANDS

KIRIBATI

NAURU

TONGA

TUVALU

NIUE

ALSO SENT TO:

EL SALVADOR

ECUADOR

ERITREA ESTONIA

EGYPT

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

- Mr. Steiner, Director, Division of Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea (DOALOS),
 Room DC2-450 (E+F)
- International Seabed Authority, 14-20 Port Royal Street, Kingston, Jamaica

MALAYSIA

MALDIVES

MARSHALL ISLANDS

MAURITIUS

MALTA

MEXICO

- International Tribunal, Law of the Sea, Wexstrasse 4, 20355 Hamburg, Germany