(XXI.6)

# UNITED NATIONS



## NATIONS UNIES

POSTAL ADDRESS--ADRESSE POSTALE UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017
CABLE ADDRESS--ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE:

C.N.252.1997.TREATIES-4 (Depositary Notification)

UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION ON THE LAW OF THE SEA CONCLUDED AT MONTEGO BAY, JAMAICA, ON 10 DECEMBER 1982

# NOMINATION OF ARBITRATORS BY THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION UNDER ARTICLE 2 OF ANNEXE VII OF THE CONVENTION

# STATUS OF THE LIST OF CONCILIATORS AND ARBITRATORS NOMINATED UNDER ARTICLE 2 OF ANNEXES V AND VII OF THE CONVENTION

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

Т

On 26 May 1997, the Government of the Russian Federation notified the Secretary-General that Messrs Vladimir S. Kotliar and Vladimir N. Trofimov have been nominated as arbitrators for the purposes of article 2 of annex VII of the above Convention.

ΤT

As of 26 May 1997, the following States had notified the Secretary-General of their nominations as arbitrators and conciliators for the purposes of article 2 of annexes V and VII of the above Convention:

Part	ti	CÍ.	par	ıτ

#### Nominations

Czech Republic

Dr. Vladimir Kopal, Conciliator and

Arbitrator

Germany

Dr. (Ms.) Renate Platzoeder, Arbitrator

Russian Federation

Vladimir S. Kotliar, Arbitrator Vladimir N. Trofimov, Arbitrator

Sri Lanka

Hon. M.S. Aziz, P.C., Conciliator and

Arbitrator

S. Sivarasan, P.C., Conciliator

and Arbitrator

(Prof.) Dr. C.F. Amerasinghe, Conciliator and Arbitrator

A.R. Perera, Conciliator and Arbitrator

Sudan

Sayed/Shawgi Hussain, Arbitrator Dr. Ahmed Elmufti, Arbitrator

Dr. Abd Elrahman Elkhalifa, Conciliator Sayed/Eltahir Hamadalla, Conciliator

30 June 1997

SJ

Attention: Treaty Services of Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of international organizations concerned

### CORRESPONDENCE UNIT

### 143 MEMBER STATES plus 6 NON-MEMBERS

#### ENGLISH AND SPANISH

AFGHANISTAN ETHIOPIA MICRONESIA SRI LANKA ANGOLA FIJI MONGOLIA SUDAN ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA FINLAND MOZAMBIOUE SURINAME MYANMAR ARMENIA GAMBIA SWAZILAND NAMIBIA GEORGIA AUSTRALTA SWEDEN NEPAL AUSTRIA GERMANY SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC NETHERLANDS NEW ZEALAND AZERBAIJAN GHANA TAJIKISTAN BAHAMAS GREECE THAILAND NICARAGUA THE FORMER YUGOSLAV BAHRAIN GRENADA BANGLADESH REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA GUATEMALA NIGERIA NORWAY TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO BARBADOS GUYANA BELARUS HONDURAS OMAN TURKEY PAKISTAN BELIZE HUNGARY TURKMENISTAN BHUTAN PALAU **UGANDA** ICELAND BOLIVIA INDIA PANAMA UKRAINE PAPUA NEW GUINEA INDONESIA BOSNIA AND UNITED ARAB EMIRATES HERZEGOVINA PERU UNITED KINGDOM IRAN BOTSWANA IRAO PHILIPPINES UNITED REPUBLIC BRAZIL IRELAND POLAND OF TANZANIA BRUNEI DARUSSALAM UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ISRAEL PORTUGAL JAMAICA BULGARIA OATAR URUGUAY REPUBLIC OF KOREA UZBEKISTAN CANADA JAPAN REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA CHILE JORDAN VANUATU RUSSIAN FEDERATION KAZAKHSTAN CHINA VENEZUELA COLOMBIA KENYA SAINT KITTS AND VIET NAM COSTA RICA KUWAIT NEVIS YEMEN KYRGYZSTAN SAINT LUCIA YUGOSLAVIA CROATIA SAINT VINCENT AND CUBA ZAMBIA LATVIA THE GRENADINES **CYPRUS** LESOTHO ZIMBABWE CZECH REPUBLIC CZECH REPUBLIC LIBERIA
DEMOCRATIC PEOPLE'S LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA
REPUBLIC OF KOREA LIECHTENSTEIN SAMOA LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA SAUDI ARABIA SEYCHELLES NON-MEMBER STATES DENMARK SIERRA LEONE LITHUANIA SINGAPORE DOMINICA MALAWI DOMINICAN REPUBLIC MALAYSIA COOK ISLANDS SLOVAKIA SLOVENIA KIRIBATI ECUADOR MALDIVES EGYPT MALTA SOLOMON ISLANDS NAURU EL SALVADOR MARSHALL ISLANDS SOMALIA NIUE MAURITIUS SOUTH AFRICA ERITREA TONGA

SPAIN

TUVALU

#### ALSO SENT TO:

- IMO

**ESTONIA** 

- Mr. Steiner, Director, Division of Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea (DOALOS), Room DC2-450 (E+F)
- International Seabed Authority, 14-20 Port Royal Street, Kingston, Jamaica

MEXICO

- International Tribunal, Law of the Sea, Wexstrasse 4, 20355 Hamburg, Germany