## UNITED NATIONS



## NATIONS UNIES

POSTAL ADDRESS --- ADRESSE POSTALE UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

CABLE ADDRESS ---- ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE: UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE C.N.106.1980.TREATIES-3

24 April 1980

# CONVENTION ON ROAD TRAFFIC DONE AT VIENNA ON 8 NOVEMBER 1968

#### ACCESSION BY KUWAIT

Sir,

I have the honour, upon instructions from the Secretary-General, to inform you that, on 14 March 1980, the instrument of accession by the Government of Kuwait to the Convention on Road Traffic, done at Vienna on 8 November 1968, was deposited with the Secretary-General.

The instrument of accession is a companied by the following understanding:

"It is the understanding of the State of Kuwait that its accession to the said Convention does not imply recognition of Israel, or accepting any obligation towards it emanating from the provisions of the said Convention."

The Government of Kuwait, in accordance with the provisions of article 45(4) of the Convention, notified the Secretary-General that it has chosen the distinguishing sign "KWT" for display in international traffic on vehicles registered by it.

In accordance with article 47(2), the Convention will enter into force for Kuwait twelve months after the date of deposit of its instrument of accession, that is to say, on 14 March 1981.

Accept, Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

The Legal Counsel

Sent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Member States

## CORRESPONDENCE UNIT

## 107 MEMBER STATES plus 6 NON-MEMBERS

### ENGLISH AND SPANISH

AFGHANISTAN AUSTRALIA AUSTRIA BAHAMAS	FINLAND GAMBIA GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC	MALAYSIA MALDIVES MALTA MAURITIUS	SOMALIA SOUTH AFRICA SPAIN SRI LANKA
BAHRAIN	GERMANY (FEDERAL	MEXICO	SUDAN
BANGLADESH	REPUBLIC OF)	MONGOLIA	SURINAME
BARBADOS	GHANA	MOZAMBIQUE	SWAZILAND
BHUTAN	GREECE	NEPAL	SWEDEN
BOLIVIA	GRENADA	NETHERLANDS	SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC
BOTSWANA	GUATEMALA	NEW ZEALAND	THAILAND
BRAZIL	GUYANA	NICARAGUA	TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
BURMA	HONDURAS	NIGERIA	TURKEY
BYELORUSSIAN SSR	HUNGARY	NORWAY	UGANDA
CANADA	ICELAND	OMAN	UKRAINIAN SSR
CHILE	INDIA	PAKISTAN	UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS
CHINA	INDONESIA	PANAMA	UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
COLOMBIA	IRAQ	PAPUA NEW GUINEA	UNITED KINGDOM
COSTA RICA	IRELAND	PERU	UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA
CUBA	ISRAEL	PHILIPPINES	UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
CYPRUS		POLAND	VENEZUELA
CZECHOSLOVAKIA	JAPAN	PORTUGAL	YEMEN
DEMOCRATIC YEMEN	JORDAN	qatar	YUGOSLAVIA
DENMARK	KENYA	SAINT LUCIA	ZAMBIA
DOMINICA	KUWAIT	SAMOA	NON-MEMBER STATES
DOMINICAN REPUBLIC	LESOTHO	SAUDI ARABIA	
ECUADOR	LIBERIA	SEYCHEL <b>LE</b> S	DEMOCRATIC PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF KOREA
EL SALVADOR	LIBYAN ARAB	SIERRA LEONE	KIRIBATI
ETHIOPIA	JAMAHIRIYA	SINGAPORE	NAURU
FIJI	MALAWI	SOLOMON ISLANDS	REPUBLIC OF KOREA
		·	SAINT VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES TONGA

ALSO SENT TO:

TUVALU ZIMBABWE

INFORMATION COPY SENT TO:

KUWAIT

COPY SENT TO:

ECE

4 Information Centres

Juriste Principal, Palais des Nations, Geneva, Switzerland UNCITRAL Law Library, Vienna International Centre, P.O. Box 500,

A-1400 Vienna, Austria

AIT/FIA Joint Committee (OTA), 22a Hill Street, Richmond, Surrey TW9

1TW, England