Registration Number 1845
Title International Opium Convention
ex officio
Places/dates of conclusion
Lake Success, New York11/12/1946
EIF information
3 February 1948 , the date on which the amendments to the Convention, as set forth in the annex to the Protocol of 11 December 1946, entered into force, in accordance with paragraph 2 of article VII of the Protocol
Authentic texts
ICJ information
Secretary-General of the United Nations
Registration Date ex officio 3 January 1948
Subject terms
Agreement type Multilateral
LNTS Volume Number 81
Publication format Full
Certificate Of Registration
Text document(s)
Volume In PDF v81.pdf

ParticipantActionDate of Notification/DepositDate of Effect
AfghanistanAccession to the Convention as amended29/01/1957 
AlgeriaAccession to the Convention as amended31/10/196329/01/1964
ArgentinaDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
AustraliaAcceptance of the Protocol28/08/194703/02/1948
AustriaAcceptance of the Protocol17/05/1950 
BahamasSuccession to the Convention and the Protocol13/08/1975 
BelgiumDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
BoliviaDefinitive signature of the Protocol14/12/194614/12/1946
BrazilDefinitive signature of the Protocol17/12/194617/12/1946
CambodiaSuccession to the Convention as amended03/10/1951 
CameroonSuccession to the Convention as amended20/11/1961 
CanadaDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
Central African RepublicSuccession to the Convention as amended04/09/1962 
ChileDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
ColombiaDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
CongoSuccession to the Convention as amended15/10/1962 
Czech RepublicSuccession to the Convention as amended30/12/199301/01/1993
DahomeySuccession to the Convention as amended05/12/1961 
Democratic Republic of the CongoSuccession to the Convention as amended31/05/1962 
DenmarkAcceptance of the Protocol15/06/1949 
Dominican RepublicDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
EcuadorAcceptance of the Protocol08/06/1951 
EgyptAcceptance of the Protocol13/09/1948 
EthiopiaAccession to the Convention as amended09/09/1947 
Federal Republic of GermanyAcceptance of the Protocol12/08/1959 
FijiSuccession to the Convention and the Protocol01/11/1971 
FinlandAcceptance of the Protocol03/02/194803/02/1948
FranceAcceptance of the Protocol10/10/1947 
GhanaSuccession to the Convention as amended07/04/1958 
GreeceAcceptance of the Protocol21/02/1949 
HaitiAcceptance of the Protocol31/05/1951 
HondurasDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
HungaryAcceptance of the Protocol16/12/1955 
IndiaDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
IndonesiaAccession to the Convention as amended03/04/195802/07/1958
IraqAcceptance of the Protocol14/09/1950 
IrelandAcceptance of the Protocol18/02/194818/02/1948
IsraelAccession to the Convention as amended16/05/1952 
ItalyAcceptance of the Protocol25/03/1948 
Ivory CoastSuccession to the Convention as amended08/12/1961 
JamaicaSuccession to the Convention as amended26/12/1963 
JapanAcceptance of the Protocol27/03/1952 
JordanAccession to the Convention as amended07/05/195805/08/1958
Lao People's Democratic RepublicSuccession to the Convention as amended07/10/1950 
LebanonDefinitive signature of the Protocol13/12/194613/12/1946
LesothoSuccession to the Convention as amended04/11/197404/10/1966
LiechtensteinAcceptance of the Protocol25/09/194703/02/1948
LuxembourgAcceptance of the Protocol13/10/1949 
MalawiSuccession to the Convention as amended22/07/196506/07/1965
MalaysiaSuccession to the Convention as amended21/08/195831/08/1957
MauritiusSuccession to the Convention as amended18/07/1969 
MonacoDefinitive signature of the Protocol21/11/194721/11/1947
MoroccoSuccession to the Convention as amended07/11/195602/03/1956
NetherlandsAcceptance of the Protocol10/03/1948 
New ZealandDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
NigerSuccession to the Convention as amended25/08/1961 
NigeriaSuccession to the Convention as amended26/06/196101/10/1960
NorwayAcceptance of the Protocol02/07/194703/02/1948
Papua New GuineaSuccession to the Convention as amended28/10/198028/10/1990
PhilippinesAcceptance of the Protocol17/05/1950 
PolandDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
RomaniaAcceptance of the Protocol11/10/1961 
RwandaSuccession to the Convention as amended05/08/196401/07/1962
SenegalSuccession to the Convention as amended02/05/196320/06/1960
Sierra LeoneSuccession to the Convention as amended13/03/196227/04/1961
SlovakiaSuccession to the Convention as amended28/05/199301/01/1993
South AfricaAcceptance of the Protocol24/02/194824/02/1948
SpainDefinitive signature of the Protocol26/09/1955 
Sri LankaSuccession to the Convention as amended04/12/1957 
SwedenDefinitive signature of the Protocol17/10/194717/10/1947
SwitzerlandAcceptance of the Protocol25/09/194703/02/1948
Syrian Arab RepublicDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
ThailandDefinitive signature of the Protocol27/10/194703/02/1948
TogoSuccession to the Convention as amended27/02/1962 
Trinidad and TobagoSuccession to the Convention as amended11/04/196631/08/1962
TurkeyDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
UgandaAccession to the Convention as amended20/10/196518/01/1966
Union of Soviet Socialist RepublicsAcceptance of the Protocol25/10/194703/02/1948
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern IrelandDefinitive signature of the Protocol11/12/1946 
Upper VoltaAccession to the Convention as amended26/04/196325/07/1963
Viet NamSuccession11/08/195011/08/1950
Yugoslavia (Federal Republic of)Succession to the Convention as amended31/07/200227/04/1992
Yugoslavia (Socialist Federal Republic of)Acceptance of the Protocol19/05/1948 
ZambiaSuccession to the Convention as amended09/04/197324/10/1964