26. CONVENTION ESTABLISHING AN INTERNATIONAL RELIEF UNION

Geneva, 12 July 1927

ENTRY INTO FORCE REGISTRATION: TEXT:

27 December 1932, in accordance with article 18.

27 December 1932, No. 3115. League of

Nations. **Treaty**

../doc/Publication/UNTS/LON/Volume%20135/v135.pdf.

Ratifications or definitive accessions

Albania (July 22nd, 1929)

Belgium [January 16th, 1931]

(May 9th, 1929) Hungary

Great Britain and Northern Ireland

(April 17th, 1929) [January 9th, 1929 a] It being understood that "the most extensive immunities,

facilities and exemptions" mentioned in Article 10 of the Does not include any of His Britannic Majesty's Colonies, Protectorates or territories under suzerainty or mandate. present Convention shall not include exterritoriality or the other rights and immunities enjoyed in Hungary by duly

Greece

accredited diplomatic agents. Burma²

(August 31st, 1929)

Iran New Zealand

(September 28th, 1932 a) [December 22nd, 1928 a]

Iraq4 On the understanding that no contribution to the initial fund (June 12th, 1934 a) of the Union will fall due by New Zealand before the commencement of the next financial year in that country, Italy

viz., April 1st, 1929. (August 2nd, 1928)

Applies also to the Italian Colonies.

India [April 2nd, 1929] Luxembourg

Bulgaria [June 27th, 1929 a]

(May 22nd, 1931) China³ (May 21st, 1929)

Monaco

(May 29th, 1935 a) Poland

Cuba (July 11th, 1930) [June 18th, 1934] Romania

Czechoslovakia^{4,5},[^e]; [September 11th, 1928]

(August 20th, 1931) San Marino Ecuador (August 12th, 1929)

(July 30th, 1928) Sudan

Egypt (May 11th, 1928 a)

[August 7th, 1928] Switzerland

Subject to later acceptance by the Egyptian Government of (January 2nd, 1930 a) the decisions of the Executive Committee fixing its Turkey

contribution.

(March 10th, 1932) Venezuela

Finland (June 19th, 1929)

(April 10th, 1929) Yugoslavia (former)4,6 France [August 28th, 1931 a]

(April 27th, 1932)

Germany

Signatures not yet perfected by ratification

Brazil Nicaragua Colombia Peru Guatemala **Portugal**

Latvia Spain Series,

Uruguay

Actions subsequent to the assumption of depositary functions by the Secretary-General of the United Nations

Participant ^{4,5,7}	Notification of withdrawal from the International Relief Union		Participant ^{4,5,7}	Notification of withdrawal from the International Relief Union	
Cuba	8 Oct	1956	Iraq ⁴		
Egypt	1 Aug	1955	Luxembourg	20 Apr	1964
France	20 Feb	1973	Myanmar	1 Oct	1951
Greece	6 Nov	1963	New Zealand	2 Aug	1950
Hungary ⁴	•••		Romania ⁶	24 Dec	1963
India	9 Nov	1950	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	4 May	1948

Notes:

- League of Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol.135, p.247.
- ² See note 1 under "Myanmar" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ³ See note concerning signatures, ratifications, accessions etc, made on behalf of China (note 1"China" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume).
- ⁴ In a letter of 6 December 1968, the Executive Secretary of the International Relief Union informed the Secretary-General that the Governments of the following States had withdrawn from the said Union by notifying it directly of their withdrawal on the dates indicated:

Participant:Date of notification:Czechoslovakia30 June 1951Hungary13 November 1951Iraq10 April 1961

- ⁵ See note 1 under "Czech Republic" and note 1 under "Slovakia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ⁶ The notice of withdrawal contains the following statement:

The Romanian People's Republic hereby gives notice of its decision [of withdrawal] and accordingly considers itself free from any obligations deriving from the Convention establishing an International Relief Union.

As regards the question of dealing with the consequences of national disasters the Government of the Romanian People's Republic will continue as heretofore to give assistance to countries which suffer such disasters in the manner it considers appropriate.

⁷ In accordance with article 19, the provisions of the Convention cease to be applicable to the territory of the

withdrawing Member one year after the receipt of the notice of withdrawal by the Secretary-General