Geneva, 19 March 1931

ENTRY INTO FORCE REGISTRATION: TEXT: 29 November 1933, in accordance with article 5. 29 November 1933, No. 3301.¹ League of Nations, *Treaty Series*, ../doc/Publication/UNTS/LON/Volume%20143/v143.pdf.

Ratifications or definitive accessions

Brazil

(August 26th, 1942 a)

Great Britain and Northern Ireland

(January 13th, 1932) This ratification does not include any British Colony or Protectorate or any mandated territory in respect of which the mandate is exercised by His Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom.

Barbados, Basutoland, Bechuanaland Protectorate, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, Ceylon, Cyprus, Fiji, Gambia (Colony and Protectorate), Gibraltar, Gold Coast [(a) Colony, (b) Ashanti, (c) Northern Territories, (d) Togoland under British Mandate], Kenya (Colony and Protectorate), Malay States [(a) Federated Malay States: Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Selangor; (b) Unfederated Malay States: Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis, Trengganu, and Brunei], Malta, Northern Rhodesia, Nyasaland Protectorate, Palestine (excluding Trans-Jordan), Seychelles, Sierra Leone (Colony and Protectorate), Straits Settlements, Swaziland, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda Protectorate, Windward Islands (Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent)

(July 18th, 1936 a) Bahamas, British Solomon Islands Protectorate, Falkland Islands and Dependencies, Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony, Mauritius, Saint Helena and Ascencion, Tanganyika Territory, Tonga, Trans-Jordan, Zanzibar

(September 7th, 1938 a) Jamaica, including the Turks and Caicos Islands and the Cayman Islands (August 3rd, 1939 a)

Somaliland Protectorate (August 3rd, 1939 a) Australia (September 3rd, 1938 a) Including the territories of Papua and Norfolk Island and the mandated territories of New Guinea and Nauru

Ireland

Denmark

(July 10th, 1936 a)

Signatures not yet perfected by ratification

Czechoslovakia² Ecuador Mexico Romania (July 27th, 1932) The Government of the King, by its acceptance of this Convention, does not intend to assume any obligations as regards Greenland.

Finland (August 31st, 1932) France (April 27, 1936 a) Germany^{2,3} (October 3rd, 1933) Greece (June 1st, 1934) Italy (August 31st, 1933) Japan (August 25th, 1933) Monaco (February 9th, 1933) The Netherlands (for the Kingdom in Europe)^{2,4} (April 2nd, 1934) Netherlands Indies and Curacao (September 30th, 1935 a) Surinam (August 7th, 1936 a) New Hebrides (Anglo-French Condominium) (March 16th, 1939 a) Nicaragua (March 16th, 1932 a) Norway (July 27th, 1932) Poland (December 19th, 1936 a) Portugal2,4 (June 8th, 1934) Sweden (July 27th, 1932) Switzerland (August 26th, 1932)

Spain Turkey Yugoslavia (former)⁵

Actions subsequent to the assumption of depositary functions by the Secretary-General of the United Nations

Participant ³	Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)	
Austria	1 Dec	1958
Bahamas	19 May	1976 d
Belgium ⁶	18 Dec	1961
Cyprus	5 Mar	1968 d
Fiji	25 Mar	1971 d
Hungary	28 Oct	1964 a
Indonesia	9 Mar	1959 d

Notes:

¹ League of Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol. 143, p.7.

² All the parties to this Convention have agreed to consider the instrument of ratification deposited by this country, after the date stipulated in the Convention, as valid. The Japanese Government, however, is of opinion that this ratification has the character of an accession.

³ In a notification received on 21 February 1974, the Government of the German Democratic Republic stated that the German Democratic Republic had declared the reapplication of the Convention as of 6 June 1958.

In this connection, the Secretary-General received, on 13 January 1976, the following communication from the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany:

With reference to the communication by the German Democratic Republic of 31 January 1974 concerning the applica tion, as from 6 June 1958, of the Convention of 19 March 1931 on the Stamp Laws in connection with Cheques, the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany declares that in the relation between the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Democratic Republic the declaration of application has no retroactive effect beyond 21 June 1973.

Subsequently, in a communication received on 28 April 1976, the Government of the German Democratic Republic declared:

"The Government of the German Democratic Republic takes the view that in accordance with the applicable rules of international law and the international practice of States the regulations on the reapplication of agreements concluded under international law are an internal affair of the successor State concerned. Accordingly, the German Democratic Republic was entitled to determine the date of reapplication of the Convention on the Stamp Laws in Connection with Cheques of 19 March 1931 to which it acceded on the basis of the succession of States."

See also note 2 under "Germany" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.

⁴ See note 1 under "Netherlands" regarding

Participant ³	Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)	
Liberia	16 Sep	2005 a
Luxembourg	1 Aug	1968 a
Malaysia	14 Jan	1960 d
Malta	6 Dec	1966 d
Papua New Guinea	12 Feb	1981 a
Tonga	2 Feb	1972 d

Aruba/Netherlands Antilles in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.

⁵ The ratification was made subject to the reservation that the provisions of the Convention do not apply to the colonial territory of Portugal (see ibid., vol. 143, p. 9). In a communication received on 18 August 1953, the Government of Portugal notifieid the Secretary- General of the withdrawal of this reservation. Subsequently, the Secretary-General received, on 29 September and 19 October 1999, communications concerning the status of Macao from Portgual and China (see also note 3 under "China" and note 1 under "Portugal" regarding Macao in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume). Upon resuming the exercise of sovereignty over Macao, China notified the Secretary-General that the Convention will also apply to the Macao Special Administrative Region.

⁶ With a declaration that, in accordance with article 9 of the Convention, the Government of Belgium does not intend to assume any obligations in respect of the Trust Territory of Ruanda-Urundi.