78/1042 d.R.

UNITED NATIONS



NATIONS UNIES

POSTAL ADDRESS—ADRESSE POSTALE UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

CABLE ADDRESS—ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE: C.N.303.1978.TREATIES-1

22 December 1978

COMPULSORY JURISDICTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE EXTENSION OF ACCEPTANCE BY EL SALVADOR

Sir,

I have the honour, upon instructions from the Secretary-General, to refer to letter C.N.253.1973.TREATIES-2 of 8 January 1974 transmitting the declaration by the Government of El Salvador recognizing as compulsory the jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice, made pursuant to paragraph 2 of Article 36 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice.

In this connexion, I wish to inform you that, in a declaration received on 27 November 1978, the Government of El Salvador communicated to the Secretary-General its decision to extend for a period of 10 years as from 26 November 1978 its acceptance of the compulsory jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice.

The above-mentioned declaration was deposited with the Secretary-General on 27 November 1978. The translation of the text of the said declaration is enclosed herewith.

Accept, Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

John F. Scott

7. S-00

Acting Director of the General Legal Division in charge of the Office of Legal Affairs

Sent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Member States

CORRESPONDENCE UNIT

105 MEMBER STATES plus 4 NON-MEMBERS

'ENGLISH AND SPANISH

AFGHANISTAN HONDURAS PORTUGAL
'AUSTRALIA HUNGARY QATAR
AUSTRIA ICELAND SAMOA

BAHAMAS INDIA SAUDI ARABIA
BAHRAIN INDONESIA SEYCHELLES
BANGLADESH IRAQ SIERRA LEONE
BARBADOS IRELAND SINGAPORE
BHUTAN ISRAEL SOLOMON ISLANDS

BOLIVIA JAMAICA SOMALIA
BOTSWANA JAPAN SOUTH AFRICA

BRAZIL JORDAN SPAIN BURMA KENYA SRI LANKA BYELORUSSIAN SSR KUWAIT SUDAN CANADA LESOTHO SURINAME CHILE LIBERIA SWAZILAND CHINA LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA SWEDEN

COLOMBIA MALAWI SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC

COSTA RICA MALAYSIA THAILAND

CUBA MALDIVES TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

CYPRUS MALTA TURKEY
CZECHOSLOVAKIA MAURITIUS UGANDA

DEMOCRATIC YEMEN MEXICO UKRAINIAN SSR

DENMARK MONGOLIA UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC MOZAMBIQUE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

ECUADOR NEPAL UNITED KINGDOM

EL SALVADOR NETHERLANDS UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA ETHIOPIA NEW ZEALAND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FIJI NICARAGUA VENEZUELA
FINLAND NIGERIA YEMEN
GAMBIA NORWAY YUGOSLAVIA
GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OMAN ZAMBIA

GERMANY (FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF) PAKISTAN

GHANA PANAMA

GREECE PAPUA NEW GUINEA

DEMOCRATIC PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF KOREA

NON-MEMBER STATES

GRENADA PERU KOREA (REPUBLIC OF)

GUATEMALA PHILIPPINES MAURU
GUYANA POLAND TONGA

ALSO SENT TO:

INFORMATION COPY SENT TO:

COPY SENT TO:

EL SALVADOR

- 4 INFORMATION CENTRES
- GENERAL LEGAL DIVISION, ROOM 3450 B (E) and XEEM! D Room 3440 I
- HEGISTRAR (ICJ) E+F
- JURISTE PRINCIPAL, PALAIS DES NATIONS,