2019 Treaty Event: Treaties in Support of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Daily Report

Thursday, 26 September 2019

Today twenty-nine (29) **treaty actions** were effected with the Secretary-General by twenty (20) States; one (1) State participated at the level of **Head of State** and nineteen (19) States participated at the **ministerial level**.

There were a total of eighteen (18) signatures, ten (10) ratifications and one (1) accession. A breakdown of the treaty actions is provided below:

Environment

 Regional Agreement on Access to Information, Public Participation and Justice in Environmental Matters in Latin America and the Caribbean (Escazú, 4 March 2018)

(Signature by Grenada, Jamaica and Saint Kitts and Nevis; Ratification by Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Uruguay)

Commercial Arbitration and Mediation

 United Nations Convention on International Settlement Agreements Resulting from Mediation (New York, 20 December 2018)
(Signature by Armenia, Chad and Guinea-Bissau)

Transport and Communications

 Convention on the Facilitation of Border Crossing Procedures for Passengers, Luggage and Load-luggage Carried in International Traffic by Rail (Geneva, 22 February 2019)
(Signature by Chad)

Human Rights

- Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on a communications procedure (New York, 19 December 2011) (Signature by Armenia)
- Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, aiming at the abolition of the death penalty (New York, 15 December 1989)

(Signature by Armenia)

• Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (New York, 10 December 1984) (Accession by Grenada)

Disarmament

• Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (New York, 7 July 2017) (Signature by Botswana, Dominica, Grenada, Lesotho, Maldives, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia; Ratification by Bangladesh, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Maldives and Trinidad and Tobago)

