2016 Treaty Event: Towards the promotion of the international legal framework on human mobility

Final Report

19th – 23rd September 2016

During the 2016 Treaty Event, fifty-six (56) **Member States** undertook seventy-nine (79) **treaty actions.** Of these Member States, twenty (20) participated at the level of **Head of State**, seven (7) participated at the level of **Head of Government** and twenty-six (26) participated at the **ministerial level**.

There were a total of eight (8) acceptances, twelve (12) accessions, forty-seven (47) ratifications and twelve (12) signatures. A breakdown of the treaty actions is provided below:

Human Rights

• Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (New York, 18 December 2002)

(Ratification by Ghana)

- Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on a communications procedure (New York, 19 December 2011) (Ratification by Georgia)
- Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, aiming at the abolition of the death penalty (New York, 15 December 1989)

(Accession by the Dominican Republic)

• Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (New York, 13 December 2006)

(Ratification by Iceland)

Refugees and Stateless Persons

• Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons (New York, 28 September 1954)

(Accession by Guinea-Bissau)

• Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness (New York, 30 August 1961)

(Accession by Guinea-Bissau)

Health

• Protocol to Eliminate Illicit Trade in Tobacco Products (Seoul, 12 November 2012)

(Accession by Swaziland; Ratification by Panama)

Transport and Communications

- European Agreement concerning the International Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road (ADR) (Geneva, 30 September 1957) (Ratification by Georgia)
- Agreement concerning the Adoption of Uniform Technical Prescriptions for Wheeled Vehicles, Equipment and Parts which can be fitted and/or be used on Wheeled Vehicles and the Conditions for Reciprocal Recognition of Approvals Granted on the Basis of These Prescriptions (Geneva, 20 March 1958)

(Accession by Republic of Moldova)

Penal Matters

- Amendment to article 8 of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (Kampala, 10 June 2010) (Ratification by Chile and the Netherlands)
- Amendments on the crime of aggression to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (Kampala, 11 June 2010) (Ratification by Chile and the Netherlands)
- Amendment to article 124 of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (The Hague, 26 November 2015) (Acceptance by Finland)
- United Nations Convention against Corruption (New York, 31 October 2003)

(Accession by Holy See; Ratification by Bhutan)

 International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (New York, 13 April 2005) (Accession by Vietnam)

Commodities

• International Agreement on Olive Oil and Table Olives, 2015 (Geneva, 9 October 2015)

(Signature and ratification by Tunisia)

Law of the Sea

 Agreement relating to the implementation of Part XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 (New York, 28 July 1994

(Accession by Ghana)

 Protocol on the Privileges and Immunities of the International Seabed Authority (Kingston, 27 March 1998)
 (Ratification by Ghana)

Disarmament

• Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (New York, 10 September 1996)

(Ratification by Myanmar and Swaziland)

• Arms Trade Treaty (New York, 2 April 2013) (Ratification by Cabo Verde and Madagascar)

Environment

 Amendment to the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal (Geneva, 22 September 1995)

(Ratification by Antigua and Barbuda)

- Doha amendment to the Kyoto Protocol (Doha, 8 December 2012)
 (Acceptance by Antigua and Barbuda, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic and Swaziland)
- Paris Agreement (Paris, 12 December 2015)

(Acceptance by Belarus, Iceland and United Arab Emirates; Ratification by Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Dominica, Ghana, Guinea, Honduras, Kiribati, Madagascar, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Senegal, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Thailand, Tonga, Uganda, Ukraine and Vanuatu; Signature by Armenia, Chile, Kyrgyzstan, Malawi, Nigeria, Republic of Moldova, Sierra Leone, Togo, Turkmenistan, Yemen and Zambia)

- Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity (Nagoya, 29 October 2010) (Accession by Swaziland)
- Nagoya-Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (Nagoya, 15 October 2010) (Accession by Swaziland)
- Minamata Convention on Mercury (Kumamoto, 10 October 2013) (Accession by Antigua and Barbuda and Swaziland)

