3. PROTOCOL RELATING TO A CERTAIN CASE OF STATELESSNESS

The Hague, 12 April 1930

ENTRY INTO FORCE REGISTRATION: TEXT:

1 July 1937 in accordance with articles 9 and 10.

1 July 1937, No. 4138.

League Nations,

../doc/Publication/UNTS/LON/Volume%20179/v179.pdf

Ratifications or definitive accessions

Brazil

(September 19th, 1931 a)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and all parts of the British Empire which are not separate Members of the League of Nations .2(January 14th, 1932)

Burma³

His Majesty the King does not assume any obligation in respect of the Karenni States, which are under His Majesty's suzerainty, or the population of the said States.

Australia

(July 8th, 1935)

(Including the territories of Papua and Norfolk Island and the mandated territories of New Guinea and Nauru.)

Union of South Africa

(April 9th, 1936)

India

(September 28th, 1932)

Series,

In accordance with the provisions of Article 13 of this Protocol, His Britannic Majesty does not assume any obligation in respect of the territories in India of any Prince or Chief under his suzerainty or the population of the said territories.

Treaty

Chile

China4

(February 14th, 1935)

Netherlands5

(April 2nd, 1937)

(June 15th, 1934)

(March 20th, 1935)

Including the Netherlands Indies, Surinam and Curacao.

Poland

Salvador

(October 14th, 1935 a)

Signatures not yet perfected by ratification

Subject to accession later for the Colony of the Congo and

the Mandated Territories. Canada Colombia

Cuba Czechoslovakia6 Denmark

Egypt Estonia France

Greece

Ireland Japan

Latvia Luxembourg

Mexico Peru Portugal

Spain Uruguay

Actions subsequent to the assumption of depositary functions by the Secretary-General of the United Nations

Participant	Accession(a), Succession(d)		Participant	Accession(a), Succession(d)	
Cyprus	3 Apr	1978 d	Malta ⁸	16 Aug	1966 d
Fiji	12 Jun	1972 d	Mauritius	18 Jul	1969 d
Jamaica	12 Jun	1968 a	Niger	18 Jul	1968 a
Kiribati	29 Nov	1983 d	Pakistan	29 Jul	1953 d
Lesotho	4 Nov	1974 d	Serbia ⁷	12 Mar	2001 d
Malawi ⁷	11 Jul	1967 a	The former Yugoslav Republic of	18 Jan	1994 d

	Accession(a),	Accession(a)	Accession(a),		
Participant	Succession(d)	Participant	Succession(d	Succession(d)	
Macedonia ⁷		Zimbabwe	1 Dec 199	8 d	

Notes:

- ¹ League of Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol.179, p.115.
- ² See note 2 under "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" regarding Hong Kong in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ³ See note 1 under "Myanmar" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ⁴ See note 1 under "China" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ⁵ See note 1 under "Netherlands" regarding Aruba/Netherlands Antilles in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ⁶ See also note 1 under "Czech Republic" and note 1 under "Slovakia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- ⁷ The former Yugoslavia had acceded to the Protocol on 15 December 1959. See also note 1 under "Bosnia and Herzegovina", "Croatia", "former Yugoslavia", "Slovenia", "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and "Yugoslavia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- 8 The notification of succession contains the following declaration:

"In accordance with article 4 of the Protocol, the Government of Malta declares that:

"(i) article 1 shall apply unconditionally to any person born in Malta on or after the 21st September 1964;

"(ii) in regard to a person born in Malta before the 21st September 1964, article 1 shall only apply, where such person was on 20 September 1964, a citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies and one of his parents was born in Malta."